Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tolerance: When Time Stops

When Time Stops is the debut release from Venezuelan progressive metal act Tolerance, though it took them nearly a decade of line-up changes and songwriting to get this platter finished up for Musea and into our hands. The hard work over many years though seems to have been worth it, as this is a very enjoyable album that really shows the love that the band have poured into it.

Comprised of Ricardo Figueroa (vocals), Carlos Cabrices (guitar), Ricardo Nunez (drums), and Antonio Ramirez (keyboards), with bass & strings being performed by a cast of guest musicians, Tolerance show plenty of skills in being able to craft melodic progressive metal that showcases a wide assortment of chops as well as emotion. What is instantly apparent is the love for Dream Theater that the band clearly has, as a good chunk of the album really has that Images and Words era feel to it, especially tracks like "Meeting the Path", "Drifted" and the title cut. Figueroa's vocals have a certain James LaBrie tone to them, though he arguable has more range than LaBrie himself, and the abundance of soaring guitar & keyboard exchanges no doubt show the influence of Dream Theater. That being said, When Time Stops is by no means a straight clone of the New York band, as Tolerance do a great job of throwing in some native jazz & funk elements into their songs which give them a unique edge. The musicianship of the players is top notch, with Cabrices & Ramirez really dazzling throughout the entire album. As excellent as the playing is however, it all comes down to the songs, and this band knows how to write catchy, intelligent songs with plenty of musical fireworks.

Despite the obvious Dream Theater references here, When Time Stops is a really good album that should be a no brainer for any progressive metal fan who craves expert musicianship and catchy melodies. Sample a song like "The Greatest Plan" if you don't believe me, as this one contains just about all the things that this band do so well. Good stuff, and I'll be keeping a close eye on these guys in the months & years ahead, while enjoying this one over and over again.

Track Listing
1) Lutin
2) When Time Stops
3) Different Skies
4) Drifted
5) Blind Spot
6) Meeting the Path
7) Beware of the Birds
8) The Greatest Plan

Added: June 18th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3297
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by