Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Yagull: Films

Yagull is a New York based project fronted by multi-instrumentalist/composer Sasha Markovic. Their debut CD Films is a dark and somber affair, acoustic in nature with a strong flair for chamber/folk music. The music is both brooding and melodic and at times quite beautiful. Besides Markovic (guitars, bass, percussion, voice, keys) Yagull is Lori Reddy (flute), Sonia Choi (cello), Eylon Tushiner (sax) and Josh Margolis (drums, keys). Only Markovic plays on every track.

The album begins with the strangely compelling "Dark". I found my ear being drawn to the repeated five notes on acoustic guitar before more delicate passages slowly enter the fray. It's a soothing intro ideally suited for nighttime pursuits. Delicate acoustic guitar and flute highlight "Los Pajaros" while "East" features a rich sax accompaniment to the darkly toned acoustic guitar. The more uplifting "T Feel" contains one of the nicest melodies on the disc and is one of those songs that begs for the repeat button. The beautifully poignant "Summerdreamer" is all about the acoustic guitar with its slightly mournful dustings of flowing melody lines and soft tones and leads directly to "Pulse", a tune of similar style but with added flute.

The band adds reworkings of a couple of classics; "White Room" and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath", with both receiving the acoustic treatment much like the rest of the CD. Very nice indeed.

The recording sounds excellent and the playing is flawless. Perhaps my only concern is the songs do not stray very far from one another and do sound similar after a while. On the other hand, the band cements their sound in a particular style which helps to give the album flow.

Those who are searching for acoustic music of a gentler form, Films is an album I would certainly recommend.

Track Listing:
1. Dark (4:11)
2. Los Pajaros (3:06)
3. East (4:02)
4. T Feel (2:47)
5. Summerdream (2:46)
6. Pulse (3:21)
7. Sound Of M (2:16)
8. River (3:14)
9. White Room (4:51)
10. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (4:05)
11. April (3:29)
12. Yagull (3:50)
13. Mosquita (4:08)
14. Distance (6:07)
15. Dark (reprise) (3:52)

Added: June 10th 2013
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2973
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by