Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Yaan-Zek, Phi with Marco Minnemann: Deeper With The Anima

Multi-instrumentalist and guitarist extraordinaire Phi Yaan-Zek is back with his follow up to Dance With The Anima entitled Deeper With The Anima and what a fantastic album it is. If you like fusion and progressive rock you have come to the right place. The musicianship is excellent and that is not a surprise as Phi has returned with pretty the well the same lineup as his last album; Marco Minnemann (drums), Lalle Larsson (keyboards) and a few other guests including the excellent Bryan Bellar (bass) who plays on a couple of tracks.

Deeper With The Anima is an album of multiple contrasts and moods, richly textured and immaculately performed. This music is so varied and interesting you are never quite sure what the next track will bring.

"Adventures At Midnight" kicks the album off with a blast of middle eastern fusion followed by "Inamorata In Peril- Part Three", a world/fusion expose that slowly builds with symphonic bits bursting forth along with Eastern fused guitar sounds before a climactic ending unfolds. "Corazones En Fuego" is another beauty, this time exploring the tango, and doing it very well. The flamenco style guitar is sublime matching well with Phi's artful piano excursions. The band blends pop and fusion with the catchy "Ecstasies Of The Starlight Self" while "Mariana's Deeper Dive" is an art rock treat full of mysterious moods and atmospheric textures. The rest of the album is just as good so no complaints from this corner.

Deeper With The Anima is an album of contrasting moods and tones, excellent musicianship and some fine songwriting. Highly recommended for fans of jazz, fusion and progressive rock.

Track Listing:
1. Adventures At Midnight
2. Inamorata In Peril Part Three
3. Corazones En Fuego
4. Ecstasies Of The Starlight Self (T-Boy Remix)
5. Mariana's Deeper Dive
6. Love Abounds
7. Melodies Of Me Three
8. Maid With Spanish Fly (Luke Bedi Remix)
9. Signposts 2
10. Lovers' Tryst
11. Four Daughters Of Phrygia (Cafe Del Marlborough's Pilgrim Mix)
12. The Shrine Of The Augmented Weave
13. Wholeheartedness
14. At Peace

Added: June 10th 2013
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2394
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by