Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dillinger Escape Plan, The: One Of Us Is The Killer

Music reviewers may rely on categorization too often. My first instinct was to agree with the folks who categorize The Dillinger Escape Plan (DEP) as mathcore which has hardcore punk/heavy mental instrumentation combined with frenetic, changing time signatures beyond the realm of your "average" progressive metal. To me, mathcore could be the free-jazz of heavy metal. Even if I don't totally understand it, I can totally appreciate it.

I have experienced some prior DEP recordings and read some existing reviews. I could take a review of their previous CD Option Paralysis, change the title to 2013's One Of Us Is The Killer, swap out song titles and VIOLA the reviews would read the same. The amazing thing is that the formula isn't broken so there's no need to fix it. Lead guitarist and only original-member Ben Weinman still crafts chaos inside concise metal statements. Greg Puciato's vocals are very high energy (understatement); his delivery is insanity on purpose yet when he sings melody he has a very Mike Patton-esque feel which is a compliment, yet a simple comparison however apt. Drumming on this release is Billy Rymer whose performance provides structure to the chaos while contributing to it as well. Liam Wilson slings the bass and part of his charm is his on-stage presence; search for the Golden Gods 2013 performance of DEP to witness his command. Rhythm guitarist Lames Love is a solid piece in the atonal puzzle.

One factor that sticks out is the effective use of melodic background vocals, specifically on tracks "Hero of the Soviet Union" and "Nothing's Funny," the latter of which would make an excellent single as it has more accessible qualities than the bulk of the CD.

"Understanding Decay" features melodic vocals during chorus with drawn out phrasing over frenetic instrumentation. This formula works as a way to include some type of hook into the hardcore chaos. After repeated listens I can happily advise that there is no lack of hooks. At the same time there is still plenty of aggressive, angry-sounding explosiveness featured on the first single "When I Lost My Bet."

Another serious FNM-ism appears on "Paranoia Shields." DEP and the rock music community may tire of the continual comparisons between themselves and Faith No More but it is hard to ignore the many similarities. I don't find this to be troubling, however, as the music world has been missing a high-profile group able to so deftly combine multiple dynamics with memorable choruses.

Instrumental "CH 375 268 277 ARS" proves math rock test has been passed and provides a quasi-intro into "Magic That I Held You Prisoner."

The energy on this release is infectious. There is no question that DEP accomplished exactly what they set out to do.

Track Listing
1. "Prancer" 3:52
2. "When I Lost My Bet" 3:53
3. "One of Us Is the Killer" 3:28
4. "Hero of the Soviet Union" 3:00
5. "Nothing's Funny" 3:26
6. "Understanding Decay" 3:48
7. "Paranoia Shields" 4:27
8. "CH 375 268 277 ARS" 2:32
9. "Magic That I Held You Prisoner" 2:49
10. "Crossburner" 5:05
11. "The Threat Posed by Nuclear Weapons" 3:46

Added: June 10th 2013
Reviewer: Ryan Good
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2055
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by