Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Trail of Tears: Oscillation

It may not quite be as bad as the ongoing Queensr˙che mess but things are decidedly not well in the Trail of Tears camp. Main man Ronny Thorsen was banned from the band's Facebook page before this appeared on his behalf, "I can honestly conclude that a certain female singer has lost her final remaining piece of sanity. It is indeed fascinating how much nonsense and lies one person is able to spew forth." Prior to this female vocalist Cathrine Paulsen posted the following, "I have felt frustration and sadness many times. I found out I still don`t have any reasons to trust Ronny, as I and the rest of the band have started to read news about the band on facebook. That means that he doesn`t communicate with the band anymore. I cannot work like this, so it`s easy for me to support his decision to leave the band. Ronny made this decision in October; still he keeps running the show alone, making decisions for the band without even asking or telling the rest." All very unsavoury and you'll be unsurprised to learn that Oscillation is the final Trail of Tears album.

Despite all the turmoil they have gone out on somewhat of a high. The edition with the bonus tracks may be a little on the long side (when will bands learn that we have the attention span of a goldfish in the modern world?) but this is an album that I have returned to many of times since I got it – because I actually wanted to rather than because I had to. I could probably lose "Path of Destruction" and possibly "Vultures Guard My Shadow" but "The Dawning" with its pounding rhythm and strong vocals from both Thorsen and Paulsen is a real winner and if it wasn't followed by "Room 306" the album would be even stronger. The title track is magnificent and given the travails involved in making the record, overall a minor triumph.

Top notch cover art as well which is always great to see.

Track Listing:
1. Waves of Existence
2. Scream Out Loud
3. Crimson Leads on the Trail of tears
4. Oscillation
5.Path of Destruction
6. Vultures Guard My Shadow
7. The Dawning
8. Room 306
9. Our Grave Philosophy
10. Lost in Life
...Digipack bonus tracks..
12. Sleep Forever
13. Broken Mirror

Added: June 10th 2013
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1904
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by