Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Johansson, Anton: Anton Johansson's Galahad Suite

Swedish multi instrumentalist, composer and ex Mister Kite member Anton Johansson has put together a capable group of performers, along with an alluring list of guest musicians including guitarists Mattias IA Eklundh (Freak Kitchen) and Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear, Allen/Lande) plus keyboard master Jens Johansson (Stratovarius, Yngwie Malmsteen).

They all appear on Anton's epic melodic conceptual release titled Anton Johansson's Galahad Suite a hard rock project that verges on metal at times with symphonic elements though it's not the heaviest of music releases. This album has been in the works for quite some time that is almost thirty years. The concept behind this release involves the famous knight Sir Galahad of King Arthur's Round Table.

"Sir Galahad was raised to be pure and by that supposed to please God and therefore be shown the way to the Holy Grail. In my take of the story he meets ordinary folk along the road who makes him doubt the quest. He refuses to be used as a puppet and a tool for others and stands up for himself. Thus he pleases God who grants him his wish. The journey from a Hope for others, to a Man for himself. Each track depicts a step of Sir Galahad's quest".

"The day that he was born, His destiny was sealed, He would be the one, Saviour of the world" are the first lyrics you hear on the opener "Galahad – The Hope" as Sir Galahad is prepared for and departs on his quest. The songs on Anton Johansson's Galahad Suite are quite varied with an instrumental "Morning Sun – The Battle" at the half way point , there is the slow powerful tracks like "Galahad – The Hope" and "Hunted – The Decision", upbeat rockers "Somewhere – The Quest" and "Never Alone – The Victory" plus those hard groovers "Happy– The Incident" an album standout with an impressive extended instrumental section and progressive elements and also track nine "Vision Divine – The End".

Anton Johansson's Galahad Suite has a sound that is clear and powerful and really does justice to the songs, this album seems to run it's course fairly quickly so while not the longest of it's kind the quality of the songs should ensure the appeal doesn't diminish.

Track Listing
1. Galahad – The Hope
2. Somewhere – The Quest
3. Happy– The Incident
4. Hunted – The Decision
5. Morning Sun – The Battle
6. Loneliness – The Peace
7. Never Alone – The Victory
8. Coming Home – The Reward
9. Vision Divine – The End
10. Galahad – The Man

Added: June 8th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1931
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by