Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Masterplan: Novum Initium

Masterplan are back with album number five full of more melodic metal magic that is far from the straightforward kind, and once again there is a different vocalist, Rick Altzi (At Vance, Thundertone) who is the third to front the group.

Jorn Lande did make a welcome return for the last album Time To Be King having appeared on their excellent debut Masterplan and the impressive follow up Aeronautics. After which Jorn had then left the band for the first time and vocalist Mike DiMeo(ex. Riot, Ilium) featured on the third release MKII along with the drummer Mike Terrana, due to original drummer Uli Kusch's(ex. Helloween) departure also from the group he had co founded with Roland Grapow(ex. Helloween) in 2002. But it's not just their vocalist as also new to Masterplan since the last album is the talented pair bass player Jari Kainulainen (ex-Stratovarius) and drummer Martin Skaroupka(Cradle Of Filth), they join original members guitarist Roland Grapow and keyboard player and co-songwriter Axel Mackenrott.

So with their semi new line-up in place Masterplan are all set to become significantly more active with live performances in the works plus they have this engaging new album titled Novum Initium .

Rick Altzi is an agreeable addition and his vocals are commanding and distinctive and really aren't a drastic change from Jorn Lande's . Masterplan's albums have previously featured a vast component of Roland Grapow's compelling guitar work on their songs and yes this recording is no different with more gripping riffs and solos. But Roland's guitar isn't the soul focal point as this latest version of Masterplan is one potent melodic force. Martin Skaroupka shows that he can easily adapt when going from the extreme drumming required for the darkened music of Cradle Of Filth to that more suited to Masterplan, he displays his crafty footwork from the start on the short instrumental "Per Aspera Ad Astra" and continues to impress during the various songs on Novum Initium .

"The Game" is a fitting title as it's game on for Masterplan as this track takes off flowing with potent metal, of which this release has its share no matter what the pace. While the slower and mighty feel of "Keep Your Dream Alive" sounds very cool, "Black Night Of Magic" moves along with more animated music and this is followed by one of the best metal tracks I've heard in a while "Betrayal" which is a great example of what this line-up is capable of. The rest of the album continues to impress and Masterplan save the title track for last and "Novum Initiu" is also the longest displaying how adventurous the band can be with more of that great Masterplan melodic metal.

You cant go wrong with Novum Initium Masterplan is one band you can always rely on for quality metal releases and this is one of their best.

Track Listing
1) Per Aspera Ad Astra
2) The Game
3) Keep Your Dream Alive
4. Black Night Of Magic
5. Betrayal
6. No Escape
7. Pray On My Soul
8. Earth Is Going Down
9. Return From Avalon
10. Through Your Eyes
11. Novum Initium

Added: September 10th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3553
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Masterplan: Novum Initium
Posted by Michael Popke, SoT Staff Writer on 2013-09-10 10:28:44
My Score:

By far the finest Masterplan album since 2003's self-titled debut can it be a decade already? Novum Initium is a tour de force of melodic metal that leans as much toward the progressive end of the headbanging spectrum as the power end.

Dark, monstrous scorchers such as "Betrayal," "Pray On My Soul" and "Earth Is Going Down" serve as teasers in advance of the album's best song: The soaring 10-minute title track opens with a frantic piano set against crunchy power chords that accent new vocalist Rick Altzi's delivery. (He sounds freakishly similar to original Masterplan throat Jorn Lande.)

Altzi and new bassist Jari Kainulainen (Stratovarius) help resurrect a band that sounded tired and lost on recent outings. Masterplan mastermind and guitarist Roland Grapow deserves credit for bringing together a lineup that finally rivals that of the original.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by