Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ensoph: Opus Dementiae Per Speculum Et In Aenigmate

A really nice blend of dark gothic elements and metal with one or two twists of folk music along the way from this Italian unit. Favorite flavor? Operatic vocals (Angelic?) that duel it out with growly, benath-the-dirt vocals (Demonic!) over richly textured music that moves the listener to both rage and reflection. Tracks such as "Faith Defeat," "Salmo A Nessuno" and "Sun Of The Liar" are great, but "Sophia's Fall" remains the absolute best here and maybe the best demonstration of how Ensoph works its magic. If you draw no lines between Sisters Of Mercy and Emperor, Mr. Bungle and Marilyn Manson, then Ensoph is probably the band you've been waiting for.

Track Listing:
1. Jaldabaoth At The Spring Of Time (3:43)
2. In The Flesh (Visione della Passione)(4:55)
3. Sophia's Fall (4:53)
4. Faith Defeat (5:16)
5. Salmo A Nessuno (4:37)
6. White Lamb Seducer (40 Days & 40 Nights) (5:17)
7. Lies Of The Mirror Which Lies Not (3:38)
8. Sun Of The Liar (5:02)
9. Proudly Divine (INk and Mirrors & Empty Tombs) (4:16)
10. Sophia's Fall (Sophia's Welt Remix) (4:18)
Total Time: 45:09

Added: June 11th 2004
Reviewer: Jedd Beaudoin
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 3339
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by