Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cynthesis: ReEvolution

Two years ago, the progressive metal supergroup Cynthesis released the first of a trio of planned albums titled DeEvolution, and here they are back with the second installment, ReEvolution. Comprised of three original members of Zero Hour, brothers Jasun (guitar) & Troy Tipton (bass) and vocalist Erik Rosvold, along with Enchant drummer Sean Flanagan, Cynthesis are looking to break the barriers of progressive metal and deliver music that stays clear of the formulas of their other bands Zero Hour and Enchant. Not as supremely technical & heavy as Zero Hour nor accessible and melodic as Enchant, the music of Cynthesis is atmospheric, progressive, melodic, textured, complex, but most importantly memorable and thought provoking. Let's get to the album shall we!

The CD opens with the dreamy, atmospheric "Divine Night", which contains some emotional vocals from Rosvold and weaving guitar & bass lines, before quickly giving way to the brief yet furious "Convergence", as the insanely complex, trademark riffing of the Tipton brothers comes into full view. "The Grand Façade" is the first real epic tune on ReEvolution, led by Rosvold's passionate vocals over layers of lilting guitar textures and intoxicating grooves. The track builds and builds from a tranquil beginning to a more metallic finale, providing plenty of drama and emotion. Things slow down to a near crawl on the atmospheric "A Near Trivial Pursuit", which reminds a bit of some of Porcupine Tree's mellower moments, and the band dial up the heaviness factor on the epic "Persistence of Vision", complete with Rosvold's soaring vocals and some intricate rhythms & riffs from the Tipton's and Flanagan. If you've followed Zero Hour over the years, you'll love the complex arrangements here, as Troy's slippery bass lines intersect with Jasun's jaw dropping guitar riffs & fills. Jasun's clean guitar lines on "The Noble Lie" have an almost Asian feel to them, as it's just he, Rosvold, and some ethereal keyboards taking the listener through this brief but intoxicating track. The CD comes to its conclusion with the near 14-minute "Release the Deity", another slow builder that kicks off with more dreamy & atmospheric passages, as Rosvold lulls the listener in before the band starts to pick up the intensity with some intelligent and well crafted riffs & melodic yet complex arrangements. The song goes back to a slower pace with the atmospherics for a minute or two before things once again rise to a burning crescendo, Rosvold soaring to the heavens amidst forceful riffs, and then everyone dropping off as the song comes to an end.

As was the case with DeEvolution, if you are expecting Zero Hour here no doubt you'll leave disappointed. There's a ton of beauty contained within ReEvolution, and though it's heavy in spots, for the most part this is a progressive rock album filled with rich, atmospheric musical passages and thought provoking lyrical imagery, expertly crafted by the band and contained some brilliant vocals from Erik Rosvold. Can't wait to hear part three of the trilogy!

Track Listing
1) Divine Night
2) Convergence
3) The Grand Façade
4) A Most Trivial Pursuit
5) Persistence of Vision
6) The Noble Lie
7) Release the Deity

Added: June 22nd 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4406
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by