Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Morph: Sintrinity

Hailing from the mighty musical landscape that is Sweden, comes the duo known as Morph. Consisting of Attila Bokor on vocals, guitar, bass and keyboards and Richard Sandström, Morph is an entrancing Prog Alt band that will grab your attention from the very beginning of their release Sintrinity (Progress Records). This 7 track album blends the melodic with the excitement of the rhythmic and fans of bands like Porcupine Tree, Riverside and Dream Theater will find Morph right in their wheelhouse.

The 2 friends that first met back in 2005 as musicians in their early 20's, have carved out a sound that is quite uniquely their own. With the drumming of Sandström being reminiscent of that of a Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree), Morph are able to blend the musical styles from the heavy to the melodic and everywhere in between. Add in the obvious talents of Bokor doing everything else and you have yourself quite a duo. The entire Sintrinity project was written, recorded, produced and performed by both Bokor and Sandström.

Sintrinity is a concept album that tells the story about 3 people and how their lives intertwine with each other and how 2 life-long enemies fight for the affections of an unpredictable woman with a hidden agenda. Filled with madness and big choruses, Sintrinity opens with the track, "A Breath Away" which sets the table for what Morph are all about. They twist and turn with gracious melodies and soothing vocal lines that just lift you to another place. Proggy with an Alt edge, but never quite Metal, you find yourself just concealed within their music.

This was a very pleasant surprise, not knowing anything the band Morph before settling in to produce this review. Being a HUGE fan of much of the music that emanates from Sweden, I wasn't very surprised to find out that this is where these guys call home. There isn't a dud among the 7 tracks on this effort and any modern Prog Fan will enjoy the hell out of this journey. Beautiful vocals, amazing melody, skillfully executed musicianship, I recommend this disc very highly and you won't be disappointed.

Track listing
01. A Breath Away
02. At The Crossroads
03. Reaching For You
04. Wake Up
05. The Final Bow
06. It Feels Like The End
07. The Journal

Added: May 20th 2013
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2297
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by