Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Distorting Glass: The Germ EP

Faustian Rock? Does this adjective description imply that The Distorting Glass, an ambitious band, have surrendered moral integrity in order to achieve power and success, sacrificing spiritual values for power, knowledge, or material gain; a Faustian pact with the Devil. Well I wouldn't push it that far but what we have here is very interesting indeed. TDG are definitely a thinking persons band.

TDG is a London based electronic rock band, a band that comprises of Pablo Bellinghausen, Ryan White, Daniel Martin and ex-Tacoma Narrows Bridge Disaster bassist Tom Granica, who as musicians manipulate heavy guitar work with dark electronica, combining this approach with philosophical lyrics that draws heavily from poetry and literature with an emphasis on themes like mental disorders and their relationship with creative modern culture. Their major influences range from Pink Floyd, Muse, Massive Attack, NIN and The Mars Volta a list that one certainly can't snub their nose at.

Their dark, atmospheric and sometimes off kilter melodies are so precise, capturing the moment perfectly, as does the lyrical content; Kilometre Zero is a fine example of this, a song that really demonstrates what this band is about. The fun doesn't stop there as Fear and Wonder is another outstanding moment on the EP featuring some rather excellent beats, rhythms that intertwine, creating a perfect partnership with some rather powerful guitar work. This is a theme that runs through the whole recording, where one can pick out passages that provokes thought, sometimes they are subtle and at others they are in your face but never insipid.

For me though it's The City That Always Sleeps where the band scores the highest points, being the best track presented here, seeing the band working in perfect harmony. The quirky Clockworks comes a close contender though taking a completely differing stance offering more rapidity with its approach.

It will be very interesting to see where TDG go from here. This twenty eight minute EP definitely makes a statement, confirming that TDG mean business. There isn't anything negative that can said about this release as the band take their points of reference and influence and stamp their mark all over it.

Track List
1. Variance
2. Kilometre Zero
3. Fear and Wonder
4. The City That Always Sleeps
5. Clockworks

Added: May 13th 2013
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 2066
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by