Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Thy Symphony: A New Beginning

Symphonic/epic orchestral metal sounds so appealing as it gels together so effectively when a band gets it right which many do, and if you come up short well this is one sub-genre where you can easily sound out of your depth. The second album from Brazilian group Thy Symphony is one that falls somewhere in the middle sounding more like a missed opportunity than an epic winner.

Thy Symphony started out in 2001 with the band finally able to release their debut Harmonizing The World ten years later in 2011. Three members were unable to continue causing significant changes as the band had to then recruit replacement vocalists of which Thy Symphony have both male and female in the lead role, and also a new drummer was brought into the band.

The latest Thy Symphony album is titled A New Beginning, commencing with an orchestral instrumental "Hope and Fear". Thy Symphony introduce their metal to "Galaxy's Great Eye" one of the strongest songs on A New Beginning another being "Watcher" with a heavier metal edge, though the enthralling tunes aren't exactly leaping out at you. A New Beginning shows the band has potential though maybe it's a case of trying too hard instead of focusing on their strengths, and I do question whether fourteen songs were needed as this is far from a short recording, the song "2012 A New Beginning" alone is over fifteen minutes long. Less content may well have delivered better results as the weaker tracks or fillers like "Charming Nymphy" aren't an asset and the effort would have been more effective when spent on those stronger songs.

I went into this album from Thy Symphony hoping to be inspired but A New Beginning comes up short. As a result this album isn't really refreshing and certainly trails behind when compared to that league of what impressive epic bands like say Dark Moor, Fairyland, Dragonland and Thy Majestie have given us. So in the end we are just so spoilt for choice as there are many other superior albums to A New Beginning released in both the past and present that are easier to recommend.

Track listing
1) Hope and Fear
2) Galaxy's Great Eye
3) Saints and Sinners
4) Revolution
5)Charming Nymph
6) Where Land Begs for the Sun
7) Dark Knight
8) Watcher
9) Thin Line to Insanity
10) Endless Moment
11) WTC (Win the Conspiracy)
12) Time Traveler
13) 2012 A New Beginning
14) Spark of Life

Added: May 12th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2095
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by