Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Healey, Jeff: As the Years Go Passing By-Live in Germany 1989-1995-2000

As we've hit the 5th year anniversary of the passing of Canadian blues-rock guitar legend Jeff Healey, inakustik have released a compilation of three rare and previously unreleased German concerts recorded and filmed in 1989, 1995 and 2000. The three concerts include Ohne Filer Extra (May 10, 1989), Extraspät in Concert (April 2, 1995), and Ohne Filter Extra (October 31, 2000). Starting with the original Jeff Jealey Band trio for the first show, and then subsequent concerts where the band opened up to a four piece with an additional guitarist, serious Healey followers can anticipate some scorching blues rock on these exceptional concert recordings.

So many of Healey's beloved songs are here, including "Confidence Man", "Angel Eyes", "My Little Girl", "River of No Return", "Roadhouse Blues", and "See the Light", along with plenty of exciting covers. "As the Years Go Passing By", "Got a Line on You", "Stuck in the Middle", and "Yer Blues" feature no shortage of Healey's sizzling guitar licks and powerful vocals, and when he doubles up with guitar shredder Philip Sayce on the third disc, the results are quite explosive. Thiough there is a bit of overlap as far as some of the songs are concerned throughout this set, there are enough additional tracks on the 2nd & 3rd disc to add the right amount of variety.

Blues rock fans rejoice, the spirit of the late blind guitar virtuoso Jeff Healey is alive and well in this sizzling 3CD set. There is also a deluxe edition available with DVDs of the concerts added to the set. Audio quality is pretty good, and there is a nice booklet packed with commentary and photos.

Track Listing
Disc 1 : Ohne Filter Extra (May 10, 1989)
Jeff Healey – Guitar/Vocals
Joe Rockman – Bass/Vocals
Tom Stephen – Drums

1. I'm Torn Down
2. My Little Girl
3. Confidence Man
4. I Need To Be Loved
5. When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky
6. River Of No Return
7. Angel Eyes
8. Roadhouse Blues
9. See The Light

Disc 2 : Extraspät in Concert (April 2, 1995)
Jeff Healey – Guitar/Vocals
Pat Rush – Guitar
Joe Rockman – Bass/Vocals
Tom Stephen – Drums

1. Got A Line On You
2. Stop Breaking Down
3. As The Years Go Passing By
4. Confidence Man
5. Stuck In The Middle
6. Angel
7. Yer Blues
8. Me And My Crazy Self
9. Angel Eyes
10. Roadhouse Blues
11. See The Light
12. While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Disc 3 & Ohne Filter Extra (October 31, 2000)
Jeff Healey – Guitar/Vocals
Philip Sayce – Guitar
Joe Rockman – Bass/Vocals
Tom Stephen – Drums

1. My Little Girl
2. Which One
3. Love Is The Answer
4. How Blue Can You Get
5. Confidence Man
6. Put The Shoe On The Other Foot
7. Feel Better
8. Angel Eyes
9. Roadhouse Blues

Added: May 11th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1719
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by