Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Immolation: Kingdom of Conspiracy

New York death metal legends Immolation never seem to disappoint, as the band have seemingly been on a roll since their inception, and their latest CD Kingdom of Conspiracy continues that trend. While this album surely delivers all the brutality and technical precision we've come to love from the band, there's also a real sense of groove to many of these songs that makes each and every one of them all the more enjoyable.

Don't get alarmed by my use of the word 'groove' no means have Immolation lightened up or changed their style here on Kingdom of Conspiracy. On the contrary, this album is just as brutal as anything they have ever done, as tunes like "The Great Sleep" and the title track just bludgeon the listener with relentless blast beats and furious, technical riffs, while bassist Ross Dolan's venemous growls perfectly doing their part. But, look a little deeper, and you'll hear things like "Indoctrinate", "Echoes of Despair", "A Spectacle of Lies", and the awesome "God Complex", each one maxed to the hilt with juicy, crushing riffs that are so damn addicting and well crafted, but oozing groove at the same time. Guitarists Robert Vigna & Bill Taylor have done a masterful job of creating some truly memorable riffs here on this album as well as sizzling lead solos, and drummer Steve Shalaty also needs to be given credit for his acrobatic performance that is precise yet free flowing. There's also an epic-ness to a few tracks, "Serving Divinity" especially, where Immolation takes their brand of technical death metal and injects that someing 'extra', almost reaching Nile styled heights of brutal majesty.

To bring the great band Nile up again, it just seems that these two bands have walked a similar line in their careers, each one perfecting their craft by delivering one stunning release after another and touring their asses off on the live circuit. Neither band have been content to just release 'death metal by the numbers', instead really creating some boundary pushing material that sets them apart from most other extreme acts on the scene. Kingdom of Conspiracy is that damn good, but did we ever really have any doubts that it would be?

Track Listing
1. Kingdom of Conspiracy
2. Bound to Order
3. Keep the Silence
4. God Complex
5. Echoes of Despair
6. Indoctrinate
7. The Great Sleep
8. A Spectacle of Lies
9. Serving Divinity
10. All That Awaits Us

Added: May 5th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2679
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by