Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Zombie, Rob: Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor

Rob Zombie's mix of grooving adult themed industrial metal is back on Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor. Since his former group White Zombie disbanded some time ago Rob Zombie has enjoyed a successful solo career and this is his fifth album.

A few years have passed since the last recording of new material that was Hellbilly Deluxe 2 the sequel to his solo debut. But there have been other releases in between with the hits collection Icon in 2010 and more recently 2012's album of remixes Mondo Sex Head. Besides his music Rob Zombie is of course also involved with film making so he is one busy guy, and one that still finds the time to record new material.

Musically Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor doesn't vary greatly from that which one would expect to hear on a Rob Zombie recording, plus the customary movie like voice overs and effects appear again. The horror themes return with the slow eerie tune "Teenage Nosferatu Pussy" and this is followed by the rocker and first single "Dead City Radio and the New Gods of Supertown" both quickly had me hooked so the new album was off to a pleasing start.

A pulsating upbeat groover "Revelation Revolution" keeps the good vibes going, and then the unexpected sounds of the sitar appear on a short instrumental called "Theme for the Rat Vendor". With a song titled "Ging Gang Gong De Do Gong De Laga Raga" it makes for a colorful chorus as Mr Zombie gets hard rocking. "Lucifier Rising" has Zombie and his crew bursting with energy and "The Girl Who Loved Monsters" keeps the appeal of Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor intact.

The Sinister Urge and Hellbilly Deluxe remain my favorites of Rob Zombie's releases while Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor is another enjoyable addition.

Track Listing
1) Teenage Nosferatu Pussy
2) Dead City Radio and the New Gods of Supertown
3) Revelation Revolution
4) Theme for the Rat Vendor
5) Ging Gang Gong De Do Gong De Laga Raga
6) Rock and Roll (In a Black Hole)
7) Behold, the Pretty Filthy Creatures!
8) White Trash Freaks
9) We're An American Band" (Grand Funk Railroad cover)
10) Lucifer Rising
11) The Girl Who Loved Monsters
12) Trade in Your Guns for a Coffin

Added: May 4th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1748
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by