Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eclectika: Lure Of Ephemeral Beauty

Eclectika is a metal band hailing from France. Their fourth album Lure Of Ephemeral Beauty was released in 2012. The band line-up is Noémie Sirandre (vocals), Aurélien Pers (vocals) and Sébastien Regnier (vocals and instruments).

The album's first track is quite a beautiful slice of bombastic symphonic rock heavy on the drama and atmosphere. It's a decadent tune, perhaps a little self-indulgent but one I enjoyed nonetheless. Unfortunately, the band switches to black/gothic metal on most of the remaining tracks. Male growled vocals are supplemented with operatic female vox but they really don't do much for me as both could use a vast improvement. Perhaps it is the lack of solid hooks that failed to reel me in. Also the performance seems to feel a little wooden or stiff which affects the flow of the album. At times the band does delve into some interesting moments like the nightmarish beginning of "Sophia's Death: Legacy And Bitter Tears" but the vocals just don't do it for me and the better moments just don't happen enough.

Tension builds repeatedly in the eerie and atmospheric "Trauma 835" and "Sweet Melancholia" does have promise with its mixture of acoustic guitar and orchestrated keys. Both these songs lack the harsh vocals.

The band does redeem themselves a bit with the last track; the ten minute "Aokigahara" featuring pleasant guitars and keys and an overall symphonic/metal vibe.

I wish I could be more positive but that's the way I hear it. The band does have some talent but the lack of solid hooks and over the top vocals makes this sound one dimensional although I did enjoy the first and last tracks. Listen to the samples and decide for yourself but don't hold your breath.

Track Listing:
1. Through The Supernova Remnant
2. Lure Of Ephemeral Beauty
3. Cyclic Anagnorisis
4. Room Nineteen
5. Sophist's Death: Legacy And Bitter Tears
6. Trauma 835
7. Sweet Melancholia
8. Les Sept Vertus Capitales
9. Handicapped Sex In A Mental Orgy
10. Aokigahara

Added: April 22nd 2013
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1688
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by