Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Devil to Pay: Fate Is Your Muse

Three songs into the latest from Indianapolis heavy rockers Devil to Pay, and I was ready to proclaim Fate Is Your Muse as a competent, if somewhat generic trip into Clutch styled bluesy hard rock. However, by track number four, "Yes Master", the band churn out a delicious slice of slow, doomy 'Alice in Chains meets Black Sabbath' vibe that is just so terribly addicting that I had to really shake my head a few times and pay closer attention. By "Already Dead" it was pretty obvious that these guys are onto something here.

Honestly, it's not that Fate Is Your Muse contains anything overly original or groundbreaking, but if it's heavy, heavy riffs you adore, both slow , mid-paced, and occasionally chugging, accompanied by whiskey soaked vocals and pounding rhythms, you've come to the right place and Devil to Pay deliver. "This Train Won't Stop" is relentless in an almost stoner-meets-Southern Rock way, with raging riffs and plenty of wah-wah lead guitar work, while "Savonarola" is a headbangers delight with some of the wildest riffs on the album. Alice in Chains fans will love the bleak heavy rocker "Black Black Heart", and "The Naked Truth" has an element of classic Danzig about it. As I mentioned above, for my money it's the out and out doom laden tracks like "Mass Psychosis" and "Beyond the Ether" that really stand out here, as the band deliver some massive, Iommi inspired riffs that are as catchy as they are monstrous, and the atmosphere is just, well, chilling to say the least.

Again, Fate Is Your Muse won't change the world, but damn if it isn't a great slice of heavy music that isn't afraid to get down and dirty. Devil to Pay wear their influences on their sleeves, but have a knack for creating some dramatic, crushing music that is sure to appeal to many hard rock and metal fans.

Track Listing

  1. Prepare To Die
  2. Wearin' You Down
  3. Ten Lizardmen and One Pocketknife
  4. Yes Master
  5. Already Dead
  6. This Train Won't Stop
  7. Savonarola
  8. Black Black Heart
  9. The Naked Truth
  10. Mass Psychosis
  11. Tie One On
  12. Beyond the Ether

Added: April 20th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2259
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by