Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

New Black, The: III: Cut Loose

The first thing to note about III: Cut Loose is how excellent it sounds. The guitar tone in particular is really clean and precise. Kudos for this must go to producer Jacob Hansen, the band were hoping that he would, "make it fat but still make it rock." Job very much done in that respect it is fair to say.

More importantly The New Black have bothered to write some top tunes which are bolstered by Hansen as opposed to being propped up by him. The title track displays the pop sensibilities of say, D-A-D yet is powerful and appealing to hardcore rockers. "One Thing I Know" and "Any Colour You Like (As Long As It's Black)" would sound wonderful blaring out of the radio or out of the proverbial car with the roof down. III: Cut Loose is a major step forward for The New Black and should see them gain more than a few new fans.

Track Listing:
01. Innocence & Time
02. Count Me In
03. Muzzle & Blinkers
04. Superhuman Mission
05. Cut Loose
06. Any Colour You Like (As Long As It's Black)
07. Burning D
08. Not Quite That Simple
09. Sharkpool
10. The Unexpected Truth
11. One Thing I Know
12. Antidote

Added: April 18th 2013
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1593
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by