Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hypocrisy: End of Disclosure

If there's one thing you can always count on in the world of extreme metal, it's usually Peter Tagtgren and his band Hypocrisy. For countless releases now, Hypocrisy's brand of melodic death metal just always seems to hit the mark, mixing brutality, melody, technicality, and fascinating lyrical themes into a sound that's, well, Hypocrisy. Tagtgren is once again dipping into extraterrestial imagery here, which should be no surprise to longtime followers of the band.

As with many Hypocrisy albums, there's a nice variety of styles here on End of Disclosure. Opening title track offers up a slower pace than we are normally used to from these guys, with crushing, almost doomy riffs supported by haunting keyboards and Tagtgren's ravaged vocals. Elsewhere, look for churning, raging death metal monsters like "United We Fall", "Tales of Thy Spineless", and "The Eye", each one jam packed with furious, at times technical guitar riffs, relentless drum barrages, and Tagtgren's excellent death metal growls and black metal shrieks. Gotta love the massive harmony guitars of "44 Double Zero", a tune that almost has a classic metal feel to it (think Accept here), while the pummeling "Hell is Where I Stay" digs deep with some crushing riffs from Tagtgren, jackhammer drumming courtesy of Horgh, and the nimble bass lines of Mikael Hedlund. The three go for the juggular on the punishing "Soldier of Fortune", and the epic sounding closer "The Return" again brings those ominous keyboards back to play against the massive riffage and Peter's menacing growls.

Yep, another Hypocrisy album, and another winner. While the band aren't necessarily giving us anything new here, these songs are just expertly crafted, memorable, and deliver everything you want out of a melodic death metal album. Quality, class, and brutality all in one nice little package, and that's more than OK by me.

Track Listing
1. End of Disclosure
2. Tales of Thy Spineless
3. The Eye
4. United We Fall
5. 44 Double Zero
6. Hell Is Where I Stay
7. Soldier of Fortune
8. When Death Calls
9. The Return

Added: April 13th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3001
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by