Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Henry Fool: Men Singing

It is written "A picture is worth a thousand words"

Utilizing that same math I believe, "A great piece of music can paint a thousand pictures"

With just one listen to Henry Fool's Men Singing, you will find a four track instrumental album that has some great (and quite fun) music.

Men Singing was produced and arranged by Stephen Bennett and Tim Bowness, and was recorded between October 2006 and November 2012.

The album features Tim Bowness (No-Man), Peter Chilvers, Phil Manzanera (Roxy Music / 801), Jarrod Gosling (I Monster / Regal Worm), Michael Bearpark, Stephen Bennett, Andrew Booker, Myke Clifford and Steve Bingham.

With each track these talented artists paint pictures for your mind as you are taken through various styles of music; sometimes proggy, sometimes jazzy and sometimes psychedelic. The music sounds like a bunch of guys got together and just had some fun jamming together, yet each musician is in perfect sync with the others.

  • "Everyone in Sweden" = is held together with a great bass line from Peter Chilvers while the band takes you through various jazzy time changes taking a little break around the 4:00 minute mark for some wonderful keyboard washes and some very dreamy atmospheric sounds.

  • "Man Singing" = is anchored throughout by Andrew Booker's great drum work and heavily processed guitar stabs provided by Phil Manzanera and Michael Bearpark.

  • "My Favorite Zombie Dream" = offers up a great synthesized bass line with some tremendous keyboard effects, sound engineer Andy Jackson (From Pink Floyd fame) must have had a great time with this one.

  • "Chic Hippo" = is just a fantastic mellow atmospheric jam along the lines of early Floyd.

    Overall Men Singing is just a good fun listen. Put the lights down low, grab a glass of your favorite wine and let Henry Fool paint the night away for you…

    Track Listing:
    01. Everyone in Sweden ~ 13:55
    02. Man Singing ~ 6:43
    03. My Favorite Zombie Dream ~ 6:26
    04. Chic Hippo ~ 13:24
  • Added: April 13th 2013
    Reviewer: Terrell Brooks
    Related Link: Band Website
    Hits: 3591
    Language: english

    [ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
    [ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


    [ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

    © 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
    For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
    If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
    Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

    SoT is Hosted by