Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

L.E.S: Les Metempsicosis

L.E.S or more importantly Fabio Lazzeri (drums, programming), Michele Ermini (vocals) and Lamberto Salucco (guitar, bass and programming) are three upstanding men from that stunning country Italy, which seems to have an abundance of quality prog / metal bands. It won't take you long to start naming some when you think about it. A bold but true statement; it is very rare that I hear something from this geographical location that I do not like. L.E.S is no exception to this rule.

My dilemma is that the lyrics are all in Italian. Now I asked myself the following question; is this a hindrance to understanding what is happening? Well in all honesty the answer to that question is a big emphatic NO. OK I don't understand the story line or concept that runs through this album, but one thing that is for sure is that it is entertainment of the highest order; in saying that the band have stated that they are looking at adding English lyrics.

Musically what is presented here on Les Metempsicosis is emotional and atmospheric, the playing out of a screenplay; the Italian lyrics as with the language is passionate and adds an extra dimension. There's preciseness to this whole affair that is addictive, that pulls you into their creative minds as dark as it is, leaving you satisfied and calling for more.

We are blessed with approaches that are full of technicality, fast paced musical interactions, adept and passionate slower pieces that build with grandeur that create moody melancholic scenes. Salucco's guitar playing is astute and adept whilst Ermini's vocal phrasing really sets the stage. On top of this Lazzeri's drum work is more than a match for Salucco's bass that offers some interesting time changes throughout as the pair work in perfect harmony.

The album is full of little nuances that pull influence from Pain of Salvation, Dream Theater, Blackfield, Porcupine Tree, P.F.M. and even Vangelis, that really hits the mark. Les Metempsicosis is a rewarding album that is definitely worth spending time with, time that will not be wasted. To say that L.E.S is only a trio, they certainly pack quite a punch.

Track List
1. Fuori Di Me
2. Un Filo D'erba
3. A Morte
4. Pausa
5. Delirio D'immortalità
6. L'amore Che Non ho Avuto
7. La Preda
8. Nuvola
9. Ciò Che Si è Perso
10. Metempsicosis
11. La Mia Vita
12. Baco
13. L'ultima Morte

Added: April 12th 2013
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 3230
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

L.E.S: Les Metempsicosis
Posted by Lamberto Salucco on 2013-04-12 04:29:31
My Score:

Thank you guys, we're honored to be here.

Cheers from Italy!

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by