Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Killing Joke: The Singles Collection 1979 2012

One of the many things which currently make me feel old is this release; a reminder that Killing Joke have been around for over thirty years. Arguably the band has been much more influential than commercially successful. For instance in the UK they have had a surprising seventeen entires on the singles chart but only one of them (1985's "Love Like Blood") could reasonably be constituted to be a "hit" in the sense of spending any real time in the chart (nine weeks.) The album Night Time from the same year almost made the top ten, peaking at number eleven. Arguably one of their more notable achievements was to chart with 2012's fine MMXII album which shows the tenacity and stick-to-it nature of both the band and their fans.

The Singles Collection 1979 2012 is an excellent place to start with all the Killing Joke the casual fan would ever require and I recommend the version with the rarities which is a limited edition. See if you can spot the ways in which this highly influential band has influenced groups as diverse as Nirvana, Fear Factor, Faith No More , Opeth and many more.

Track Listing:
1) Nervous System / Turn To Red
2) War Dance / Pssyche
3) Requiem / Change
4) Follow The Leaders / Tension
5) Empire Song / Brilliant
6) Chop-Chop / Good Samaritan
7) Birds of A Feather / Flock The BSide
8) Let's All Go (To The Fire Dances) / Dominator
9) Me Or You? / Wilful Days
10) Eighties / Eighties (Coming Mix)
11) A New Day / Dance Day
12) Love Like Blood / Blue Feather (Version)
13) Kings And Queens / The Madding Crowd (Remixed By Killing Joke)
14) Adorations / Exile
15) Sanity / Goodbye To The Village
16) America / Jihad
17) My Love Of This Land / Darkness Before Dawn
18) The Beautiful Dead
19) Money Is Not Our God / North Of the Border
20) Exorcism (Live In King's Chamber Cairo, Aug 1993 Mix) / Whiteout (The Intellect Is Ugly Remix) (Mandragora Edit
21) Millennium (Cybersank Edit) / Millennium (Cybersank Extended Remix)
22) Pandemonium (Cybersank Edit) / Pandemonium (Cybersank Extended Remix)
23) Jana / Jana (Dragonfly Mix)
24) Democracy (Album Mix) / Mass
25) Loose Cannon / Wardance (ultimate version)
26) Seeing Red (edit) / Seeing Red (Jagz Kooner Remix w/vox)
27) Hosannas From The Basements Of Hell (Radio Edit) / Afterburner (Alternative Version)
28) In Excelsis / Kali Yuga
29) European Super State (edit) / European Super State (Youth Remix)
30) Fresh Fever
31) Ghosts of Ladbroke Grove / Ghosts of Ladbroke Grove (Dub)
32) In Cythera (Edit) / Penny Drops
33) Corporate Elect / New Uprising / In Cythera (Bloody Beetroots Remix)

1) 'Transient Place' From 'Freispiel: The Soundtrack'.
2) 'Zennon' B-side of 'Loose Cannon' single.
3) 'Drug' From the 'Mortal Kombat' soundtrack.
4) 'Hollywood Babylon' (longer intro mix) From the 'Showgirls' soundtrack.
5) 'Our Last Goodbye' From the 'Free The Memphis 3' album.
6) 'Sixth +Sun' Unreleased track from the 'Absolute Dissent' sessions.
7) 'Wardance' (Naval Mix).
8) 'Requiem' (Acapella Mix).
9) 'Pandemonium' (Aotearoa Mix) Full-length.
10) 'Four Stations Of The Sun' Studio version
11) 'Feast Of Fools' (rough mix) Unreleased track from the 'Absolute Dissent' sessions.
12) 'iBuy' with Tim Burgess. Track for Classic Rock collaborations CD.
13) 'Timewave' (rough mix) Unreleased track from the 'Absolute Dissent' sessions.
14) Jaz & Youth Shamanic Ritual Live in the King's Chamber Giza Pyramid (Pre-recording vocals for 3.Pandemonium).
15) 'Ravings of Jaz' (A conversation on philosophy between Youth & Jaz circa 2003).
16) 'Intellect' (feat. Aboud Abdel Al) Track from 'Democracy' (previously unreleased version featuring this celebrated violin player).

Added: April 5th 2013
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3135
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by