Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Soilwork: The Living Infinite

The Swedish Melodic Death Metaller's, Soilwork, have done it again. Not only have they delivered another slice of awesomeness, but they have also dropped the first double studio album of its genre. A monumental release, for sure, and it does not disappoint. The new 20 track album (YES 20!!) is entitled The Living Infinite (Nuclear Blast Records) and is the band's 8th full length record and yet another release that sees more line up changes.

On again/off again Guitarist Peter Wichers, who had returned to the fold is gone once again and now enters the guitar tandem of Sylvain Coudret (ex-Scarve) and David Andersson who came aboard in 2012 to help in the writing on The Living Infinite. The addition of the 2 new guitarists does not find the Swedish lads missing a beat. In other words, it sounds like Soilwork! The Living Infinite is quite an adventurous task, capturing pretty much every nuance that Soilwork has put forth during their career. The heavy, the melodic, the chaos, it's all here in spades. This release touches all the bases and there is something here for any Soilwork fan, be them an old or new fan.

Right out of the gate is the bombastic thrasher, "Spectrum of Eternity", with its subdued stringed intro leading into the chaos. Here we go! The riffage is killer and then enters "Speed" Strid with those awesome genre defining vocal melodies and he is singing better than ever. Next up is "Memories Confined", where the brooding riffing comes into play and their amazing drummer, Dirk Verbeuren shows that he won't be outdone. "This Momentary Bliss" is next and begins with a classic Soilwork type of riff that reminds me of the band during their Figure Number Five era. It is amazing how with all of Soilwork's guitar player changes over the years that the overall sound has been kept quite intact. The Soilwork sound is alive and well and flourishing in 2013.

Melodic and catchy but always heavy and pounding, this is what Soilwork does. The band sounds rejuvenated and hungry, with something to prove. Other highlights on this 2 disc opus are "Long Live the Misanthrope", featuring a killer solo and more great melodic vocals from Speed, "Drowning With Silence", with its pulsating pounding and non stop riffing, the speedy Chainheart Machine era sounding "Leech", and the epic sounding "Rise Above the Sentiment", with its tight groove. What you will begin to realize is that this is not a double CD filled with 8 or 9 new tracks and the remaining tracks being "B" sides or filler songs, but quite the opposite, this is a 20 track (with a couple of instrumental interludes) powerhouse of new material that doesn't offer any slack.

Soilwork has once again dropped an amazing effort and has also upped the ante with this 2 disc packaging. There has been much anticipation for this record and it is all killer and no filler. Strid's vocals are melodic with a snarl and spot on and even explorative at times, while the songs are heavy as ever and also do a great job of touching on different facets of their career, to date. Speed Strid and Co. have come into their own on The Living Infinite and retain the crown of being the undisputed champs of the Melodic Death Metal genre! This is Soilwork at their peak.

Track Listing
Disc I
01. Spectrum Of Eternity
02. Memories Confined
03. This Momentary Bliss
04. Tongue
05. The Living Infinite I
06. Let The First Wave Rise
07. Vesta
08. Realm Of The Wasted
09. The Windswept Mercy
10. Whispers And Lights

Disc II
01. Entering Aeons
02. Long Live The Misanthrope
03. Drowning With Silence
04. Antidotes In Passing
05. Leech
06. The Living Infinite II
07. Loyal Shadow
08. Rise Above The Sentiment
09. Parasite Blues
10. Owls Predict, Oracles Stand Guard

Added: March 30th 2013
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2888
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by