Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pitts Minnemann Project; The: 2l82b Normal

Even though he has contributed to many projects, such as WolfenHyde, GraveToons, The Fractured Dimension and Scholomance, I can't say that I've come across the keyboard, piano, theremin talents of Jimmy Pitt before. Although if drummer extraordinaire Marco Minnemann is willing to put his name alongside Jimmy's, then that's good enough a recommendation for me. The quirkily titled 2l82b Normal is the pair's first outing together, running the gamut between jazz, rock, prog and of course with that collection of styles, fusion. Hopefully it won't be their last. Twenty seven songs may appear excessive, but in reality this album is one long continuous piece of music, where ideas and styles are allowed to run free, unfettered by the constraints of being merely a "song". Will the faint hearted run fearing for their life? Thankfully yes, with Pitts continually building themes and atmospheres, merely to destroy them again at a moment's notice.

Twelve guest musicians, covering bass, guitar, saxophone and violin, flutter throughout the album and while it always remains Pitts and Minnemann who star here, the full dozen contributors are involved on merit and given the space and time to prove so.

Minnemann as ever is imperious, giving all of the tracks, whether they be full on bouts of aggression, or horizontally laid back jazz, focus and purpose, his seemingly never ending beats, tom excursions and time changes, bringing light and shade to music already crammed with rewarding complexities. Is his playing sometimes too much? Well not in the context of tracks titled "Violent Wankery" and "Aggressive Repeat Offender" there not, with the pinpoint accuracy of his stunning percussiveness being match only by the power and grace he brings in equal measure.

For many the sheer weight of musicianship on this album will be reason enough to have their interest piqued, and truth be told, so it should be. However if you require something a little more emotionally oriented to get the juices flowing, then there's little doubt that 2l82b Normal will fit your bill also. As the musical passages move from one extreme to the other, so does the manner in which it interacts with the listener, allowing this fully instrumental piece to hit harder than most lyric based albums could hope for and far more intently than most singer less releases ever come close to.

What Jimmy Pitts and Marco Minnemann have come up with on 2l82b Normal is an album of real worth on a variety of levels, which is something to be admired, applauded, and ultimately enjoyed again and again.

Track Listing
01. Welcome Mat of My Mind
02. Sneaking Suspicions
03. Envy Becomes a Motherfunker
04. Haters, Please
05. In Danger of Deceit
06. Heavy Thoughts Here My Friend
07. Unhealthy Aversion to Tribe Mentality
08. Clique Clash or Friends As Foes
09. Gaining Steam As a Cordial Misanthrope
10. Regarding Jazz & White Women
11. March of the Dissidents
12. We're Not In Kansas Anymore
13. You Humor Me, Truly
14. Pretentious I
15. Nothin' Funny 'bout That
16. Depressed Russians in Space
17. Can't Take the Metal Outta Me
18. Falling Off the Evil Wagon
19. Conspirators Diatribe
20. Angry Robots
21. Down, But Hopeful
22. Little Time Alone
23. Violent Wankery
24. Aggressive Repeat Offender
25. Reflecting Indecision
26. I Over U
27. Farewells Are Saddish

Added: March 25th 2013
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Jimmy Pitts Online
Hits: 2978
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Pitts Minnemann Project; The: 2l82b Normal
Posted by Michael lee prescott on 2013-08-12 20:57:36
My Score:

Hope they saved some for the sequel , this album knocked me to tomorrow!!! Another great review for the best insturmental album I've heard in a decade easily. Pitts/minnemann sound like they've been playing togeather forever.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by