Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Molly Hatchet: Live at Rockpalast 1996 (DVD)

Some of you might have read our recent review of the CD version of this same 1996 show recorded at the Lorely Open-Air Festival in Germany, but in order to really experience the power of a Molly Hatchet show, the visuals are even better. Out also now on DVD (my, wouldn't Blu-ray have been even more awesome!), fans can experience this hot concert, which was originally broadcast on the Rockpalast TV show for German TV channel WDR. The band in 1996 featured Bobby Ingram (guitar), Phil McCormack (vocals), Bryan Bassett (guitar), Andy McKinney (bass), John Galvin (keyboards), Mac Crawford (drums), and backup singers Leslie Hawkins & Therisa McCoy. Despite the fact that no original members were in the band at that time (both Ingram & Galvin have been around since the mid-'80s), this still sounds like Molly Hatchet, and the band tears through a bunch of classics as well as tracks from the then new album Devil's Canyon.

Most Southern Rock bands treat a live show like a party, and Molly Hatchet are no exceptions, so look for McCormack, Ingram, Bassett, and McKinney prowling and running all around the stage and interacting with the large crowd. Ingram & Bassett especially put on a show here, delivering plenty of raunchy riffs, blazing leads and scorching slide guitar on tracks like "Gator Country", "Whiskey Man", "Bounty Hunter", "Rolling Thunder", and "Devil's Canyon". Even the slower, more epic tracks, like the Allman Brothers Band classic "Dream's I'll Never See" and the Hatchet staple "Fall of the Peacemakers" contains some red hot guitar solos that never fail to impress.Of course, the mandatory "Flirtin With Disaster" gets the crowd into a frenzy and sends everyone home happy, which no doubt it will do for all you home viewers as well.

The DVD is bare bones, so don't look for any extras, but the concert alone is so good, well shot, and with decent enough sound & video quality, that it's a must have for any Molly Hatchet or Southern Rock fan.

Track Listing
1) Bounty Hunter
2) It's All Over Now
3) Gator Country
4) Rolling Thunder
5) Devil's Canyon
6) Down From the Mountain
7) Whiskey Man
8) Dream's I'll Never See
9) Fall of the Peacemakers
10) The Journey
11) Flirtin' With Disaster

Added: March 25th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1898
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by