Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Six Feet Under: Unborn

Here's a little background for those who may not know much about Six Feet Under: The band began as a side project by Chris Barnes, the vocalist for Cannibal Corpse from 1988-1995. Over the years, they've grown into a fairly successful band in their own right, having released nine albums so far. With this album, Six Feet Under not only puts out their tenth album, but they are coming forward with renewed passion and commitment to making strong music. Since they've had a lot of lineup changes over the years, I figured I'd better list the current players in the band. On the guitars are Steve Swanson and Ola England, on bass is Jeff Hughell, and on drums is Kevin Talley. The album also includes Jari Laine on guitar ("Zombie Blood Curse"); Ben Savage on guitar (several tracks), and Rob Arnold on guitar ("Psychosis"). I'm sure the liner notes spell all this out for interested readers.

The music on this album is pretty much straight-ahead Death metal from beginning to end. Barnes's voice sounds great and familiar. The other musicians sound tight and together; I particularly liked the bright and distorted crunch of the guitars. There's an upbeat feel to this whole album even though the lyrical content is obviously dark. I prefer Six Feet Under over Cannibal Corpse, though I don't spend the bulk of my time listening to either one. The best thing about Six Feet Under is that their songs attempt to integrate melodic elements into the music instead of merely assaulting listeners with an aural aggressive assault. Check out the first two tracks, "Neuro Osmosis," and "Prophecy" for the best examples of their use of melody; I was especially fond of the conclusion of "Neuro Osmosis," easily one of the best tracks on the album. "Prophecy" is also a pretty good song, but I thought Barnes's vocals were too harsh.

From beginning to end, this is a pretty solid album, but not a terribly surprising one. It serves as a kind of companion release to Undead, Six Feet Under's last release. Long term fans will probably like this album, but new fans might want to look around and discover some of the older work, if only to get a sense of what these guys have been up to for nearly 20 years.

Track Listing:
1. Neuro Osmosis
2. Prophecy
3. Zombie Blood Curse
4. Decapitate
5. Incision
6. Fragment
7. Alive to Kill You
8. The Sinister Craving
9. Inferno
10. Psychosis
11. The Curse of Ancients

Added: March 23rd 2013
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2207
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by