Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Empyrios: Zion

I was looking at this group's name trying to recall where I had seen it before. Then it clicked that I actually have Empyrios's last album The Glorious Sickness from 2008 and what a killer metal release it is. As a fan of bands like Scar Symmetry and Nevermore when I first saw Empyrios mentioned and the upbeat reviews that this band had received I was eager to give them a go. Empyrios's songs aren't for the faint hearted packed with heaviness, intensity and complexity with both clean vocals and growls and they still retain that catchy feel.

I recall thinking that perhaps this group no long existed, but as it turns out Empyrio's members have been very active with commitments to other bands. Like founder guitarist Simone Mularoni of metal group DGM hence the time between releases, so it is great to now see another release. After that very positive impression that The Glorious Sickness had left with me, it was with much enthusiasm that I started to delve into the futuristic themed songs of Empyrios's new album regarding "the realm of ZION". And I soon found out what a truly intense recording this is, the members of Empyrios have stepped up and played their parts in recording a shattering release.

Empyrios have recorded such an almighty sounding album with Zion as they open with "Nescience" sounding like Meshuggah meets Strapping Young Lad. This volatile technical metal crusher is impressively executed by a group in total command and their instruments have been captured with such an utterly immense sound. Empyrios don't back down performing further vigorous music on "Domino" keeping the band extremely busy, "Reverie" flows with more heavy odd time patterns. "Unplugged" is a deceiving title as the power is still in play for Empyrios when the onslaught of drums and bass provides the crushing foundations once again for more ferocious guitar work. Throughout the remainder of Zion the band continues to shows their many talents, and as I wrote above the vocals are a mixture like you find so popular with many heavy bands. Ranging from a clean melodic style to that growling kind and utilised most appropriately.

Simone Mularoni is on a roll in 2013 showing his diversity after DGM's fantastic new album Momentum, as style wise the sheer intensity of Zion makes this a way different beast to the progressive power metal of Momentum.

Track Listing
1) Nesciencek
2) Domino
3) Masters
4) Reverie
5) Unplugged
6) Renovation
7) Wormhole
8) Square One
10) Blackmail
11) Madman

Added: March 21st 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3209
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by