Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

When Mary: 7 Summers 7 Winters

When Mary is a Norwegian dance and house band formed by bandmates Trude Eidtang and Christian Paulsen. Eidtang performs all vocals along with percussion, synth, and zither. Paulsen performs guitar, synth, programming, and sound effects. This is their debut album and they are off to an excellent start.

'Waiting on the World' is the initial sample of Eidtang's elegant vocals. Her soft whispering is a wonderful surprise at the album's opening amidst some excellent synth and slow strummed electric guitar. You will enjoy her soft echoing vocals.

'Everlasting Colours' opens with soft glockenspiel from Aage Moltke Schou. Then, Eidtang's elegant vocals, which remind me a little of Sarah McLachlan's, take hold of your ears as slow guitar, percussion, synths and the glockenspiel continue their chime and rhythm.

'Soulless Soulmates' is as sad a song as the title portends. However, with Eidtang's vocals telling the story set to excellent synths and soft and haunting electric guitar it is a little less foreboding.

'Annie's Song' is by far the best track on the album. John Denver's classic love song is warmly covered, thanks to the careful and deliberate vocals of Eidtang softly singing. This classic '70s wedding march for many couples from that period, is given both a wonderful tribute and renewal.

'Falling Tears' is full of a slow rhythm and pedal steel, with Eidtang softly singing paced rhythm and dripping vocals full of emotion. The electric piano and mellotorn fill in all of the open spaces of the soundscape well. Almost could be a '70s Bond movie theme at times.

'Are You Really Sleeping?' opens with Eidtang softly humming amidst elegant keys and drum rhythms. The steady rhythm is excellent for relaxing or sitting back enjoying a sunset or a slow dance. The electric guitar solos are some of the best on the album. This track has a cool jazzy/dreamy feel to it.

'7summers7winters', the title track is the key to the package. This is the reason you will buy the CD. Eidtang's vocals fill the air as drums, shaker and tambourine from Rhys Marsh provides rhythm that may take you back to some of Peter Gabriel's percussion based albums like 'Security'. Vidar Uthaug's synth keeps pace as Paulsen's sound effects and Slje Hegg's sea flute and spoken word from Aage Moltke Schou, help round out the soundscape.

What an excellent surprise this was to receive. If you want something different sounding, this is the ticket. Eidtang's vocals throughout are worth the price of admission alone.

Track Listing:

1. Waiting on the World
2. Everlasting Colours
3. Soulless Soulmates
4. Annie's Song
5. Falling Tears
6. Are You Really Sleeping?
7. 7summers7winters

Added: March 20th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 3933
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by