Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Radiance: Undying Diabolyca

There is a wealth of heavy and intricate music with a modern feel captured on Undying Diabolyca a new album by the Italian progressive power metal group Radiance. Radiance began as an all-female group in 2004 and eventually this changed with two male members being recruited into the band.

If you enjoy heavy complex music performed by a very competent group then Undying Diabolyca is one for you, but if such a released is harder to digest then it may be too much to begin with but don't dismiss Undying Diabolyca too hastily. As given a chance you could very well end up really appreciating the songs on Undying Diabolyca especially once you unearth the albums many charms. Likewise I found the female operatic/emotion charged vocals quite unusual at first. But I soon adjusted to the varied styling's of Radiance's vocalist Karin Baldanza and they do aid in giving the band its own identity, something that is unfortunately lacking from the debuts of some of those other groups you hear. You do find those releases that just require more patience to digest and in the case of Undying Diabolyca it is time well spent.

"Towards Doom" is a short musical introduction before "Another Way" displays how effectively Radiance lock in with each other as they power up their music and get underway. Radiance like to regularly alternate the tempo "Behind The Light" is one challenging such song but the band are up to the task. The guitar and bass work on Undying Diabolyca is both compelling and adventurous and their drummers effective agile performances are also very noteworthy. Due to the substantial length of many songs and the nature of their material, Radiance has put in the effort to maintain the consistency throughout their duration.

Undying Diabolyca is a very satisfying robust technical music release, Radiance are a group of well-honed musicians performing effectively structured songs as demonstrated frequently on their debut full length album.

Track Listing
1) Towards Doom
2) Another Way
3) Behind the Light
4) Storm
5) Reasonance
6) Whirl's Criterion
7) Le Poison la Mode
8) Undying Diabolyca
9) Pulse of Awakening

Added: March 17th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 3325
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by