Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pell, Axel Rudi : Live On Fire

Guitarist Axel Rudi Pell is one German musician who seems to have always been there staying on a similar musical path. With the debut Axel Rudi Pell recording Wild Obsessions released in the late eighties, Axel had formed the band following the demise of Steeler the previous group that he was a member of. Quite a substantial list of engaging melodic albums have accumulated over those many following years under his name. With impressive contributions from other notable performers along the timeline of this musical journey on both vocals and instruments.

This newest Axel Rudi Pell release is a live one packed with popular songs plus the customary solo spots, and as is the case with many of these kinds of releases Live On Fire is available in different formats on CD, DVD and LP.

The long term line-up appearing on Live On Fire consists of lead, rhythm and acoustic guitarist Axel Rudi Pell along with vocalist Johnny Gioeli (Who reminds one of Dio at times), keyboardist Ferdy Doernberg, bass player Volker Krawczak and Mike Terrana on drums.

The atmospheric feel of "The Guillotine Suite" followed by the energetic tune "Ghost In Black" both from 2012's Circle Of The Oath get this live performance rolling, and as this was captured on the Circle Of The Oath tour other songs from that album such as the title track are also included. The prior fan favourites aren't forgotten like "Fool Fool" and "The Masquerade Ball" and with some cool medleys this release has plenty of appeal.

To the part of the show that Terrana's drums fear the most and his potent drum solo goes off with his always likeable display of power and technique, and the keyboard solo includes a cool band jam in the mix. The Axel Rudi Pell crew also perform partial covers of two classic songs with Deep Purple's bluesy rocker "Mistreated" and Led Zeppelin's hit 'Whole Lotta Love".

Overall this double CD is a live release sure to be well received by fans of this most experienced hard rock group, though you would have to suspect that the DVD version of Live On Fore would have even more appeal.

Track Listing
CD 1
1) The Guillotine Suite (Intro)
2) Ghost In Black
3) Strong As A Rock
4) Before I Die
5) The Masquerade Ball / Casbah / Dreaming Dead / Whole Lotta Love/ Dreaming Dead
6) Drum Solo
7) Mystica/ Mistreated / Mystica

CD 2
1) Oceans Of Time
2) Circle Of The Oath
3) Fool Fool
4) Keyboard Solo / Carousel / Jam / Carousel
5) Tear Down The Walls / Nasty Reputation
6) Rock The Nation

Added: March 16th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1983
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by