Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Beto Vazquez and Infinity: Beyond Space Without Limits

Beto Vazquez is an Argentinian multi instrumentalist and songwriter, who has worked with some of the best heavy metal and symphonic vocalists and artists from all over Europe. Tarja Turunen, Candice Night, Sabine Edelsbacher, Marcela Bovio, and Fabio Tordiglione, are a few of the most famous. His metal symphonies remind me of some of my favorites in the genre.

On "Beyond Space Without Limits", Vazquez has assembled another stellar cast of contributors, including: Omar Mansilla, on lead, acoustic, and rhythm guitars; Santiago Burgi, on lead vocals; Jessica Lehto, on vocals; Norberto Roman, on drums; Victor Rivarola, on acoustic guitar and keyboards; and of course, Beto Vazquez, on bass, keyboards and guitars. Guest artists include: Dario Schmunck, second lead and backing vocals; Mariano Bacigaluppi, composition and keyboards; Gustavo Terzaghi, on lead and rhythm guitars; Anja Orthodox, on lead and backing vocals; and Lucas Pereyra performed the orchestral arrangements.

The action opens fast and hard with 'Within My Madness'. The soundscape opens filled with soft synthesizers and keyboards, before the blistering rhythm of speed drums, from Norberto Roman, Vazquez's heavy bass and thrashing lead guitars join in the fun. Then Burgi's opera like vocals take the stage, amid what sounds like a choir of vocal support. The rhythm is unrelenting and driven like a race to the top of a mountain.

'From the Silence' keeps the pace rolling, with that choir like backing vocal sound. This time Anja Orthodox takes over on lead and backing vocals amid a keyboard and guitar roar. She provides her own female roars to add to Lucas Pereyra's well-designed orchestral architecture.

'Threshold' keeps that same speed drum and slicing guitar rhythm going as Iliour Griften performs lead and backing vocals. The loud guitars and drums overwhelm the backing keys as more of Pereyra's orchestral arrangements fill the surrounding soundscape.

'Soldiers of Hope', slows the pace down with excellent keyboards opening before soft acoustic guitar enters the sound. Then well placed flute adds to the mystery as the best track on the album builds momentum. Dario Schmunck's vocals are the best on the album. Very opera like, "Soldier of Hope, fighting for a revelation", as the waves of acoustic guitar and keyboards engulf the backing soundscape.

'Devil's Vision' opens with mysterious and eerie female vocals from Ana Maria Barajas, who is supported with more knife's edge lead electric guitar, from Carlos Ferrari and pounding speed drums from Roman. Chiara Malvestiti adds dramatic lead vocals at operatic levels as the pace of the rhythm drives on.

'Stagnant Waters II' opens with tranquil violin, from Lucas Silva Sapia and soft keyboards supported with soft acoustic and then electric guitar. A nice change of pace. Majestic and tranquil as one of the best electric lead guitar solos fills the air. Burgi's vocals lift above the strings and violin filling the soundscape.

'Goddess of the Sea' opens with some excellent keyboards and power lead electric vibes. Like the ocean's waves crashing against pillars of rock. The speed drums and Jessica Lehto's soft voice fill the cold sea air.

Burgi's vocals return on 'Again'. The speed drums and Pablo Soler's arching lead electric guitars shine, with the background supported well with soft keys. Dario Schmunck and Markus Prompt add powerful backing vocals to take this one over the top.

'Xarax' opens with all of guest vocalist Magdalena Lee's vocal power, filling the air like an operatic star. One of the best vocal performances on the album. The heavy guitars and drums roll forward.

'Beyond Space Without Limits' is actually the best and longest track on the album. At over 12 minutes it brings together all of the best themes and instrumental performances of the album. It is an epic masterpiece in nine sections. The stellar keys that open this track are the best on the album. The flute and soft drums join in to create a magical soundscape full of imagination. I only wish the entire album had been as imaginative as this final track. The keyboards, acoustic and electric guitar and the bass work are the best featured on the album. Lehto, and the entire wonderful female vocalist cast add an elegant touch and sound with their vocals adding magic to the overall soundscape. Vazquez even adds some sax to complete the mix. Burgi's vocals return, followed by electric guitar and drums.

This album was a nice surprise. I previewed Beto Vazquez's 'Wizard' EP, and 'Infinity' albums, because I am fan of Sabine Edelsbacher and Marcela Bovio's vocals. Now, thanks to this album I have been introduced to the wonderful vocals of Jessica Lehto and the others mentioned above. Vazquez is like Arjen Lucassen, in that he enjoys creating these vast symphonies and then he invites some of the best vocal and instrumental talent to join in bringing it to life. The title track and the enchantment of Lehto's vocals are enough to join in the journey, but there really is so much more 'Beyond Space Without Limits'. ;^)

Track Listing:

1. Within My Madness
2. From the Silence
3. Threshold
4. Soldiers of Hope
5. Devil's Vision
6. Stagnant Waters II
7. Goddess of the Sea
8. Again
9. Xarax
10. Beyond Space Without Limits

Added: March 16th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 2695
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by