Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Stick Men: Deep

Tony Levin… just the mention of his name causes most prog rock fans to summon up any number of the legendary tracks he has graced us with. From King Crimson to Peter Gabriel to Anderson-Bruford-Wakeman & Howe to Pink Floyd's Momentary Lapse of Reason to Liquid Tension Experiment among many others Levin has been the "go to" man for tremendous and unique bass sounds.

Stick Men is Tony Levin's own project he has been working on for the last few years. After their first release Absalom in 2011 and last year's Open; Stick Men have returned with Deep, their most impressive release yet.

Stick Men are made up of:
Tony Levin / chapman stick
Pat Mastelotto / drums
Markus Reuter / touch guitars, U8 and electronics

Pat Mastelotto and Tony Levin (Bandmates from King Crimson) are locked in on each track of this release and Markus Reuter with his unique touch style playing adds such tremendous color to each song. From the initial percussive chapman stick sounds on "Nude Ascending Staircase" to the dreamy layers of "Whale Watch" the listener is taken on a remarkable journey with this record. Most of the songs are instrumentals; there are the occasional vocal stabs including a pretty cool low vocal during "Crack in the Sky". "Horatio" and "Concussion" offer up a bit more of the heavier sounds of the band while a song like "Sepia" is filled with beautiful textures of music. The real gem for me was the previously mentioned final track "Whale Watch". Clocking in at just over ten minutes it includes all the best elements of the band; swaying sounds that seem to take you out on the water with the great whales as well as tight percussive moments you literally feel in your stomach.

This is a GREAT disc to test those speakers at home; or perhaps your best headphones. So break out your speaker of choice, turn the lights down low and ENJOY your journey into the Deep

Track Listing:
01. Nude Ascending Staircase ~ 5:03
02. On Off ~ 3:57
03. Cusp ~ 4:51
04. Hide The Trees ~ 6:36
05. Crack in the Sky ~ 5:44
06. Horatio ~ 4:12
07. Concussion ~ 4:24
08. Sepia ~ 8:53
09. Whale Watch ~ 10:18

Added: March 12th 2013
Reviewer: Terrell Brooks
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2734
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by