Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

D-A-D: Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark

I have a massive soft spot for Denmark's D-A-D. I played their 1989 album No Fuel Left for the Pilgrims remorselessly. It's a fantastic slab of sleaze and no home should be without it. The ridiculously titled Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark may not equal that particular towering achievement but it is very good and shows that the band has still got it in spades.

You want radio-friendly pop? That's here in the form of "I Want What She's Got" and "Fast on Wheels". Massive riffs work for you? Check out "Last Time in Neverland". It really is good to hear that the band hasn't lost the ability to pen catchy ditties and if you are American then there is a special edition just for you with live and acoustic tracks. I believe this may well be D-A-D's first official US release. It would be rude not to welcome them into your life.

Track Listing:
01. A New Age Moving In
02. I Want What She's Got
03. The End
04. Fast on Wheels
05. The Place of the Heart
06. Last Time in Neverland
07. Breaking Them Heart By Heart
08. We All Fall Down
09. Wild Thing in the Woods
10. Can't Explain What It Means
11. Drag Me to the Curb
12. Your Lips Are Sealed

01. I Want What She's Got (Acoustic)
02. The End (Acoustic)
03. A New Age Moving In (Acoustic)
04. Last Time in Neverland (Acoustic)
05. The Place of The Heart (Acoustic)
06. A New Age Moving In (Live)
07. Jihad (Live)
08. The End (Live)
09. Everything Glows (Live)
10. Ridin' With Sue (Live)
11. Monster Philosophy (Live)
12. We All Fall Down (Live)
13. Last Time in Neverland (Live)
14. I Want What She's Got (Live)
15. God's Favorite (Live)
16. The Place of the Heart (Live)

Added: April 10th 2013
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2978
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

D-A-D: Dic.Nii.Lan.Daft.Erd.Ark
Posted by Steven Reid, SoT Staff Writer on 2013-04-09 18:48:17
My Score:

Can it really be 27 years since Disneyland After Dark first offered up their Call Of The World debut and 24 since their breakthrough No Fuel For The Pilgrims? Amazingly it is, more amazingly, or perhaps in that lengthy time (especially for a rock band) disappointingly, true success has eluded this Danish four-piece - even if their mix of hard rock, party metal, blues, cowpunk and classic rock has always been energetically entertaining, hard hitting and never less than great fun. In the end however D.A.D. are probably better known for a wrangle with the owners of the Disney name that resulted in their moniker abbreviation, than they are for their music. Hence I'm guessing this clumsily titled latest release.

Well I say latest, but in truth Dic... saw the light of day back in 2011, with a recent tie up with AFM Records giving it a second lease of life (and along with a bonus disc of acoustic and live tracks a first crack of the whip in the US). The album itself is a quintessential piece of D.A.D., with the likes of "A New Age Moving In", "Last Time In Never Land" and "Wild Thing In The Wood" cracking along on boisterous guitars and the ever grittier vocals of Jesper Binzer, who is beginning to out Tyler Aerosmith's Steven Tyler for hoarse histrionics. However this is a band who hit you in a multitude of ways, whether that be through steamrollering chunky guitars, bouncing groove or a bluesy boogie, meaning that the gyrating "Can't Explain What It Means" is equally effective as the up and at 'em throb of "Drag Me To The Curb". Even after all these years, this is a band that still has plenty to say and a wide vocabulary to get that message across.

Usually bonus tracks and discs are cheap throwaway affairs, but thankfully the five acoustic Campside Favourites fall far from that category, with the keenly rearranged version of songs from the main album all standing confidently on their own merits actually the twanging banjo version of "I Want What She's Got" betters the original. Then factor in a bristling eleven track live set, Home Alive, which shows D.A.D. to be equally at home on stage as they obviously are in the studio and the bang for your buck is unquestionable.

A well kept secret for far too long, it is about time D.A.D. emerged from the darkness to get their day in the sun.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by