Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Trollfest: Brumlebassen

When you first see a band named Trollfest, with an album titled Brumlebassen and accompanying artwork of an overweight and pissed off honey stealing bee, well I could be forgiven for thinking that this is somewhat quite "out there". So Trollfest do give the impression that they are a fun band with a most active imagination, and the songs of this group from Norway are an amusing if not slightly crazy listen at times. Trollfest are also able musicians and are up to the task with such an assortment of songs.

While not the first metal band to incorporate that mythical creature known as a Troll into their name if there was an award for most unpredictable band then Trollfest would surely be in with the front runners. Brumlebassen is the fifth album from Trollfest based on what they refer to as the "troll universe" and the character Brumlebassen is a new addition and the village beekeeper.

Trollfest who refer to their style as "True Norwegian Balkan Metal" are full of musical surprises as they venture from an extreme style of blast beating metal to lighter traditional music and their choice of instruments are just as diverse. Vocals are also quite varied from the Children Of Bodom like blackened growls combined with group chants to those more appropriate for such a quirky sing along folk tune as "Hevlette". The title track is an adventurous one when the soothing sounds of nature with birds chirping and buzzing bees is substituted for Trollfest's folk infused pace alternating metal. I found the musical side of Brumlebassen much more appealing than the growling vocals, they do their job but I've heard better, and maybe added clean vocals would made a song like "Sellout" more appealing.

Trollfest's material won't appeal to everyone's tastes that's for sure, but if you're looking for a metal album that is a challenging or should I say somewhat "odd ball" listen then Brumlebassen may be the one for you.

Track Listing
1) Brumlebassen
2) Bose Tivoli
3) Illsint
4) Hevlette
5) Finsken Norsken and Presten
6) Mystisk Maskert
7) Apis Mellifera
8) Trinken Troll
9) Verboten Kjaerleik
10) Brak
11) Sellout
12) Rundt Balet

Added: March 9th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1214
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by