Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hammerfall: Gates of Dalhallah (CD/DVD)

After their last disappointing studio album Infected, power metal veterans Hammerfall either had to follow that up with another studio album that brought things back to an even keel or pump out a live concert recording that brings all their past glories out in the open. Well, Gates of Dalhalla is the latter, a live CD/DVD set (we were only given the audio portion for the purposes of this review) that is a pretty solid set from this longstanding act, though if you've seen them live before or heard previous live releases I don't know how willing you might be to shell out the dollars for yet another one.

For the most part, the band are really on top of their game throughout this set, with the guitars really cranked up and heavy, giving songs like "Any Means Necessary", "B.Y.H.", "Patient Zero", "Riders of the Storm", "Hearts of Fire", "Glory to the Brave", "Crimson Thunder", and "Steel Meets Steel" some extra added 'oomph' that helps many of these power metal anthems rise to heights higher than your standard, well, power metal anthem. The show itself was filmed and recorded in July of 2012 at the Dalhalla open air stage in Sweden, celebrating the bands 15th anniversary. To make things even more special, guests who appeared during the concert included original Hammerfall members Jesper Strömblad (In Flames) and Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquility), as well as former guitarist Stefan Elmgren.

Hammerfall are in the midst of taking an extended break, so Gates of Dalhalla is going to have to hold over all their fans until they decide to regroup once again, whenever that might be.

Track Listing
01. Patient Zero
02. Heeding The Call
03. Any Means Necessary
04. B.Y.H.
05. Riders Of The Storm
06. Let's Get It On
07. Crimson Thunder
08. Renegade
09. Blood Bound (special guest: Stefan Elmgren)
10. Last Man Standing (special guest: Stefan Elmgren)
11. Fury Of The Wild (special guest: Stefan Elmgren)
12. Drum Solo: Anders Johansson
13. Always Will Be
14. Dia De Los Muertos
15. Steel Meets Steel (special guest: Mikael Stanne)
16. Threshold
17. The Dragon Lies Bleeding (special guest: Jesper Strömblad)
18. Let The Hammer Fall
19. När Vindarna Viskar Mitt Namn (special guest: Roger Pontare)
20. Something For The Ages
21. The Templar Flame
22. Oh Fortuna (special guest: Team Cans)
23. Glory To The Brave (special guest: Team Cans)
24. One More Time (special guest: Team Cans)
25. Hammerfall
26. Hearts On Fire (featuring all special guests)

Added: March 2nd 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4247
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by