Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Puscifer: Donkey Punch the Night (EP)

Puscifer is a side project from Maynard James Keenen who is known for his work with Tool and A Perfect Circle. Keenen returns to Puscifer with Donkey Punch the Night a seven song EP which features two new songs and two covers (and the obligatory remixes of said tracks).

First let's discuss the new songs:

  • "Breathe" is released in two versions, the original version which is a pretty cool techno rock song that seems to periodically borrow the bass line from Tears for Fears "Mad World". Then there is a Drumcell Rework version which sounds more like background music for some really hip movie.

  • "Dear Brother" also with two versions is the highlight of the album (With regard to the new songs). The first version sounds much like something that would fit comfortably on the latest Muse album, while the second or the "Big Black Delta Remix" adds more percussive keyboards and reminds me of the 80's band Yazoo (Or Yaz if you are from the U.S.). Both versions have a lot to offer the listener and are worth a listen.

    Now the cover tunes:

  • "Balls to the Wall" was a great rocker originally done by the band Accept. Here you have two versions to pick from, the "Pillow Fight Mix" or the "Silent Servant El Guapo Mix" which first of all get props just for the titles alone… both versions have Keenen experimenting with more techno rock sounds. The "Pillow Fight Mix" has some great haunting vocals from Keenen; while the "El Guapo Mix" is simply a percussive instrumental version.

  • "Bohemian Rhapsody" is the true surprise here. I myself am a HUGE Queen fan and I think bands are treading on sacred ground when it comes to trying to cover one of the biggest singles in the history of recorded music. Although after listening to this track several times I must say I am quite impressed. Keenen does a great job with the vocals along with some assistance from Carina Round, Juliette Commagere, Matt McJunkins and Josh Eustis. Zac Rae handles the keyboards perfectly, Jeff Friedl and Matt McJunkins lay down the same percussive foundation on drums and bass respectfully and Mat Mitchell gives us that classic Brian May guitar sound on his note for note solos.

    Overall the CD was an enjoyable listen. If you are already a Keenen fan from his previous work you must give this one a try just to see what he currently has up his sleeve. If you are new to Keenen or Puscifer but enjoy the techno rock sound this should impress you, "Balls to the Wall", "Dear Brother" and especially "Bohemian Rhapsody" are the real gems here.

    Track Listing;
    01. Bohemian Rhapsody ~ 5:53
    02. Breathe ~ 4:40
    03. Dear Brother ~ 3:46
    04. Balls To The Wall (Pillow Fight Mix) ~ 3:55
    05. Breathe (Drumcell Rework) ~ 7:26
    06. Dear Brother (Big Black Delta Remix) ~ 3:30
    07. Balls To The Wall (Silent Servant El Guapo Mix) ~ 4:14
  • Added: February 25th 2013
    Reviewer: Terrell Brooks
    Related Link: Band Website
    Hits: 2232
    Language: english

    [ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
    [ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


    [ Back to the Reviews Index ]

    © 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
    For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
    If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
    Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

    All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

    SoT is Hosted by