Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Seeking, The: Yours Forever

What kind of band do you get if you merged the Pop sensibilities and catchy choruses of a band like Daughtry with the bombastic New School Math Metal of a band like Periphery? You would most likely get a band like the Sacramento, CA. outlet, The Seeking. Their debut record for Razor & Tie records is entitled, Yours Forever, and it is catchy as all fuck! Now I understand that the references of Daughtry and Periphery are absolutely different worlds, but somehow The Seeking have managed to bring these two types of worlds together on this record and make them work cohesively.

This 10 track release finds almost every song having its own feel and identity from one another. Songs like the CD opener, "Only A Moment", "Restless" and "Take It From Me" show off their heavier side, while still injecting slick verses and powerful choruses. Their use of clean vocals (Dylan Housewright) along with scream-o vocals (Taylor Green) on the heavier tracks really shows off their strengths at this form of attack, as well as showing off each vocalist's individual prowess. Green's clean vocals are what lends them the ability to have such a Pop presence, especially in the choruses where his searing lines take the songs to another level, as evident on the title track "Yours Forever".

Other songs range from that previously mentioned Pop to an almost Power Punk feel like a Green Day or Sum 41, all with a strong vocal chorus line and carefully crafted songwriting. I can't stress enough how excellent their use of clean vocals are, each song has a vocal line that will get stuck in your head all day long. From their heaviest songs to their single/video "How Did You Know?, their very strong vocal harmonies and melody are overflowing. Musically there is some really cool riffing going on, some even with nice breakdown passages to add some heaviness.

Classifying themselves as a "Christian" Rock band, Yours Forever, lyrically doesn't really delve into the way of religion speak, but their overall belief in a higher power is evident with very positive and uplifting lyrical matter. Overall this is a GREAT record, getting to the point. The heavy tunes have a killer groove to them and the more radio friendly songs still are guitar driven and all of the songs have those great hooks that will be with you all day. You might find yourself not wanting to dig the Poppier stuff, but The Seeking's song craft will leave you with no choice but to succumb. This is a really solid record.

Track Listing
1. Only A Moment
2. Yours Forever
3. Restless
4. You Won't Bring Me Down
5. Narrow Lines
6. So Cold
7. Change My Ways
8. Take It From Me
9. How Did You Know?
10. Alone

Added: February 25th 2013
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2072
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by