Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Zwijsen, Thomas: Nylon Maiden

Classical guitarist Thomas Zwijsen hails from the Netherlands and Nylon Maiden contains eleven arrangements of Iron Maiden tracks on classical guitar. Additional musicians on the album are Anne Bakker (violin), Nathanael Taekema (drums), Tony Newton (Voodoo Six, bass) and Blaze Bayley (Iron Maiden, Wolfsbane, vocals).

Taking on songs from all over Maiden's catalogue Zwijsen has made an enjoyable and listenable album. Whether the novelty of acoustic Maiden songs will wear off over time one will only know in a few months time but there can be no faulting the playing and arrangements I particularly enjoyed "The Trooper" as it is one of my favourite Maiden songs whilst I probably prefer "Dance of Death" without Bruce Dickinson! To be honest, I could have done with Blaze Bayley on "The Clansman" as well. Nylon Maiden is a bit of a curio but one well worth investigating for some reflective takes on Maiden classics.

Track Listing:
01 Aces High
02 Rainmaker
03 The Trooper
04 Dance of Death
05 Can I Play With Madness
06 Blood Brothers
07 The Clairvoyant
08 Wasting Love
09 Wasted Years
10 The Clansman (featuring Blaze Bayley)
11 The Talisman (featuring Tony Newton)

Added: February 21st 2013
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1865
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by