Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hughes, Glenn: Live at Wolverhampton

Originally recorded back in 2009 in his hometown of Bilston, Wolverhampton in the UK, Live in Wolverhampton is a 2CD set compilation of his 2-night gig and features a host of songs from Glenn Hughes' solo career, Trapeze, Hughes-Thrall, and Deep Purple. It also served as a fitting tribute to his old friend and Trapeze bandmate Mel Galley who at the time had recently passed away.

The first CD features a mix of Hughes solo material as well as a few Hughes-Thrall and Deep Purple tracks. Fantastic to hear the little known Purple cut "What's Going On Here" from the Stormbringer album, with Jeff Kollman doing a fine job of covering Ritchie Blackmore's parts. Hughes is in fine vocal form on this track, as well as Burn's "Mistreated", but you kind of miss the presence of David Coverdale, as in their Purple days the two created a huge wall of vocal sound that has rarely been duplicated. "Muscle and Blood" and "Hold Out Your Life" are two of the strongest songs from the very underrated debut from Hughes-Thrall and sound great here, and Glenn's funk-rock solo tracks "You Got Soul" and "Love Communion" really get their groove on.

The meat and potatoes of this set is over on CD2, which is all classic Trapeze songs. Hughes couldn't have done a better job of picking out which songs to play from that seminal '70s band that gave him his big break in rock 'n' roll. Heavy rockers "Medusa", "Black Cloud", "Jury", "Seafull", and "You Are the Music..." are all here, as well as the lovely "Coast to Coast" and the more funky "Keeping Time", "Way Back to the Bone" and "Your Love is Allright". Trapeze , along with Grand Funk Railroad, were one of the first bands that really combined hard rock with funk, and some of their best material is on display here. Hughes sounds just as good in 2009 as he did in 1972, and the band here is quite tight, with Kollman really nailing all those classic Galley guitar riffs and solos.

Live in Wolverhampton is a rockin' good time, and more proof that Glenn Hughes is a freak of nature as far as that incredible voice is concerned, and shows no signs of slowing down any time soon.

Track Listing

  1. Muscle and Blood
  2. You Got Soul
  3. Love Communion
  4. Don't Let Me Bleed
  5. What's Goin' On Here
  6. Mistreated
  7. Steppin' On
  8. Crave
  9. Hold Out Your Life
  10. Way Back To The Bone
  11. Touch My Life
  12. Jury
  13. Keepin' Time
  14. Coast To Coast
  15. Seafull
  16. Good Love
  17. Your Love Is Alright
  18. Medusa
  19. You Are The Music...
  20. Black Cloud

Added: February 16th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1810
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by