Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Springfield; Rick: Songs For The End Of The World

Woooaaaa, where did this come from? Well judging by the ray-gun and steam-punk goggles that the singing, guitaring, songwriting, screen-acting Rick Springfield has donned on the cover of his new album Songs For The End Of The World, I'm guessing the choruses, melodies and stunning sing alongness come from the planet Can'tGetThisStuffOutO'MaHead17! He may well for some always be better known as Dr. Noah Drake in TV's General Hospital (having played the character for a combined time of around 6 years), however for those of us from a hard rockin' melodical persuasion, Springfield will always bring us music for perfect summer's days, where all the world's evils fall ever so far away.

Five years on from his last solo venture, Rick is back with a mighty bang for his buck and a set of songs that justice done should catapult this album into the minds of the mainstream populace. However we melodic rockers have always been a bit selfish about sharing our best kept secrets, so if the likes of the urgent, bouncy pop-rock of "Wide Awake", the swaggering shout along of "I Hate Myself" or the Na-Na-Naaaaaaaaahing "Love Screws Me Up" remain for the select few, then we won't be complaining. No matter how much these songs and the rest of SFTEOTW deserve world acclaim.

If that wasn't enough, "I Found You" has power-ballad hit written all over it, "Depravity" adds a touch of introspective maturity to a song that still hits with a memorable thunk, while "Our Ship's Sinking" and "A Sign Of Life" throb and writhe with intensity. Then add to that a mix of Def Leppard, Bryan Adams and Magnum for "My Last Heartbreak" and you have a collection of tracks sure to delight any melodic rock fan.

True to its MHR/AOR roots, but still sounding vibrant current and vital, Songs For The End Of The World is an album that any right minded fan of this style of music needs on their playlist pronto! Welcome back Rick!

Track Listing
1. Wide Awake
2. Our Ship's Sinking
3. I Hate Myself
4. You & Me
5. Gabriel
6. A Sign Of Life
7. My Last Heartbeat
8. Joshua
9. Love Screws Me Up
10. I Found You
11. Depravity
12. One Way Street

Added: February 1st 2013
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Rick Springfield Online
Hits: 1984
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by