Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tausig, Jay: Libra: Eternal Balance

'Libra' is the segment of the 'Trip Around the Sun' off Jay Tausig's latest installment of the 12 disc set that I have most anticipated. And you and I are well rewarded for the wait.

Rhijenerate Winders, Jay's wife, opens this chapter much as she has throughout the journey. Her spoken word reading of Remy Kiehn-Lindsey's poetry helps prepare you to get in the right mindset for the incredible experience you will have enjoying this latest masterpiece. 'Visions of Venus' is the opening preparation for that journey set to spacey Floydian synthesizers.

'Equilibrium' continues the journey musically with beautiful soft piano – like keys and synths surrounding floating guitar. Definitely feels and sounds like you are floating through space in an endless scenic journey of calm. Complete equilibrium…for sure.

Alert strings, guitar and bass open 'Song of The Scales', followed by synth and keyboard rhythms. Drums stamp their signature into the sound as waves of piano roll across the dark expanse of space. Kerry Chicoine, (Kerry Kompost), plays bass, synths, and wrote the composition.

'Vibrato' opens with shimmering keys and a xylophone - like sound. The racing start energizes the synths, piano, and all other keys into an orchestrated soundscape of wonder. Cyrille Verdeaux, composed, and produced the track along with providing the excellent keyboards. Jean-Philippe Rikyel and Frederic Rousseau, played lead synthesizer. Patrick Smaja, provides the well – timed drums. Pierrot Perrier, plays bass, and Jay Tausig, plays Mellotron.

'Lady Justice' opens with those flowing synths that move like a soft wind across a star – filled sky. It is short but a wonderful break in the action. Thom Worldpoet, provides spoken word and Jay Tausig, provides the awesome flowing synthesizers.

Excellent poetry and spoken word from Anne Leighton set to sax and piano fills the air for 'Together We Can'.

'Green and Gold' is full of excellent piano and soft spacey Mellotron drifting around poetry written and composed by Cyrille Verdeaux. Neil Bettencourt, plays solid drums. And Thomas St Vincent plays guitar.

Rhi Jenerate, is back to lead off the salute to Pink Floyd: 'Mishap Marries Mirth (Floydian Slip)', with her spoken poetry. The music sprinkles a little bit of familiar Floyd- like guitar and keyboard riffs throughout the track. The riffs are taken from the many ages and stages of this legendary band. Best track on the album.

More poetry and voice from Thom Worldpoet opens 'Eternal Balance' as fields of synths and soft drums fill the air.

Another great segment in this journey through the sun signs. Ed Unitsky's artwork is amazing as ever with Jay looking at times like the wizard Todd Rundgren. Get this part of the journey or miss one of its best sections yet.

Track Listing:

1. Visions of Venus
2. Equilibrium
3. Song of The Scales
4. Vibrato
5. Lady Justice
6. Together We Can
7. Green and Gold
8. Mishap Marries Mirth (Floydian Slip)
9. Eternal Balance

Added: January 30th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1630
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by