Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Light Among Shadows: Welcome...Back!

Light Among Shadows are an international symphonic metal band comprised of German vocalist Tatjana Klee, Spanish guitar player Adrien Fowl, bassist Chris Red, and drummer Alejandro Tineo, with mixing, mastering, and keyboard work done by Antonio Lopez. Their first official full-lengfth is titled Welcome...Back!, which the band is releasing independently. It's a 13 song collection of crunchy, symphonic metal with strong female vocals though should find plenty of fans out there with those who love this style.

As you make your way through the CD, you can't help but notice how accessible much of the album really is. Unlike similar acts such as Nightwish or Epica, whose level of bombast can be polarizing to some, Light Among Shadows instead take the route of more recent Lacuna Coil and Within Temptation, and inject their songs with catchy hooks and memorable melodies, never letting the arrangements get too complex or adventurous. Tunes like "Children of the Underworld", "When You Close Your Eyes", and "Through the Maze of Thorns" are sweeping heavy rockers, complete with crunchy guitar riffs, just the right amount of keyboards, and Klee's soaring vocals. She's an excellent singer, and sure to find many admirers once folks discover this album. Even the heavier numbers "Of Wonder and Horror", "Lost in a Sea of Nightmares" and the title track are highly engaging and have a way of pulling the listener in with their instant accessibility, but make no mistake about it they pack plenty of punch. Those that like the mellower side of female fronted metal can look forward to the dreamy "Homecoming" or the highly melodic "Dreamshaping", each one a true vehicle for Klee's angelic vocals, who sounds at times like former The Gathering singer Anneke van Giersbergen, especially on the wonderful "Alone".

Actually, there's not a bad song in the bunch, as Light Among Shadows have crafted an enjoyable slab of symphonic & progressive metal here filled with rock solid instrumentation, great vocals, and intriguing lyrics inspired by horror stories and fairy tales. Welcome...Back! is a winner, and signals the arrival of a new player on the scene.

Track Listing
1) Welcome...Back!
2) Children of the Underworld
3) When You Close Your Eyes
4) Homecoming
5) Of Wonder and Horror
6) Through the Maze of Thorns
7) Lost in a Sea of Nightmares
8) Mirage
9) Dreamshaping
10) The World Behind the Mask
11) A Tarnished Mirror
12) Back to Where You've Never Been
13) Alone

Added: January 24th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2426
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by