Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Moghul: Dead Empires

From the birthplace of heavy metal known as Birmingham comes Moghul, a band who formed in 2012 and are comprised of James Neuenhaus (Vocals - Guitar), Joseph Barber ( Vocals - Guitar), Adam Wiseman (Bass), and Tom Woods ( Vocals - Drums). Moghul play an epic mix of apocalyptic doom, sludge, and stoner on their 2 song debut EP titled Dead Empires for Devizes Records. These two lengthy tracks feature massive, dirge-laden riffs, anguished vocals, and slow, plodding rhythms. The vocals are a mix of tortured hardcore styled bellows and gravelly growls that don't quite approach what you would hear in death metal, but close. If you like slow, crushing riffs, and don't mind a lack of variety, Dead Empires is sure to scratch your doom itch. I would have liked to hear a few guitar solos or something to add a little spice to these otherwise plodding pieces, but there's no doubt a wealth of mountainous heaviness on display here that's hard to ignore. Definitely a band to keep an eye on.

Track Listing
1) Dead Empires
2) Hidden Hand

Added: January 21st 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band at Bandcamp
Hits: 1577
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by