Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bruin, Christiaan: City of Light

Christiaan Bruin is a Dutch musician, composer and producer. This album is one of his latest from his solo project, CHRIS. His debut album 'A Glimpse Inside' was released in 2009. He has released three other albums, 'Making Sense' (2010), City of Light (2012) and Snow Stories (2012). Christiaan Bruin wrote all the music and lyrics, played most of the instruments and sang vocals as well as being responsible for the production. Bas Immerzel is credited with lead guitar on 'City of Light'.

Bruin has been writing and performing music since the age of 13, when he started his first band Error, for which he wrote all the music and played guitar. Bruin is now active as a drummer in the upcoming progressive rock band SKY ARCHITECT. Together with conservatory classmates Wabe Wieringa and Rik van Honk, he was a co-founding member of Sky Architect, who received critical acclaim with their 2011 album 'Excavations of the Mind'.

Bruin is also a member of the progressive metal band ADEIA and the orchestral pop band MAYRA ORCHESTRA.

This is an excellent epic progressive symphonic album which produces the magnitude of sound befitting a full band. Bruin uses a boyish sounding voice to blend well with the electronic sounding progressive music assembled on 'City of Light'. Although there exist similarities to Yes and other keyboard lead progressive bands, Immerzel's electric guitar cuts through to provide a power chord driven compliment to the work. The epic over 10 minute 'Nowhere to Go' was by far my favorite. The story within the lyrics provides some interesting twists and turns. The artwork is impressive to say the least.

The artwork, produced by Bruin and Kenneth Jensen, throughout the CD package is stunning and wonderful.

A nice new surprise that makes me want to go back and listen to the rest of the catalog of music this young and talented composer has produced.

Track Listing:

1. Colours Come To Life (8:12)
2. Blessings and Goodbyes (5:48)
3. Stars Align (6:30)
4. The Sky Falls Down (9:38)
5. Upside Down (5:31)
6. Nowhere To Go (10:30)

Added: January 20th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1145
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by