Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman, and Howe: Live at the NEC 10-24-1989

This is one of the few Yes collaborations I did not possess in my collection of Yes albums or collaborations, so it was a great surprise to receive it as a review package. The music was recorded live at the NEC, on Oct 24th 1989. The band at the time was named after the collaborating members, Jon Anderson, on vocals; Bill Bruford, on drums; Steve Howe, on guitars; and Rick Wakeman, on keyboards; who eventually put aside differences and united to form ABWH, to record an album and perform a live tour. Joining the members on tour were guest artists: Tony Levin, on bass; Julian Colbeck, on keys; and Milton McDonald, on guitars.

One key for me with this collaboration is that Jon is present. Unfortunately Chris Squire and Alan White are not. But as a Yes fan, it is essential for me that it is Jon's voice that delivers Yes music. So I did enjoy hearing his voice bring back the classic Yes tracks from a time 23 years ago, when his voice was still full of power.

This is the deluxe edition, released with a bonus DVD. A regular edition is expected to follow.

The music and warmth of the friendships in the band you can hear during the performances, make this an essential addition to any Yes fan's collection. The black and white footage on the DVD also shows the band in this great period of collaboration that many Yes fans wish could return. Get this package and drift back to a time when the band was still creating and collaborating at a super high level.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:

1. Time and a Word/Owner of a Lonely Heart/Teakbois
2. Clap
3. Mood for a Day
4. Wakeman Solo
5. Long Distance Runaround/Drum Solo
6. Birthright
7. And You and I
8. All Good People
9. Close to the Edge

Disc 2:

10. Themes/Bruford-Levin Duet
11. Brother of Mine
12. unlisted track
13. The Meeting
14. Heart of the Sunrise
15. Roundabout
16. Starship Trooper
17. Order of the Universe


Video content: "ABWH - Off the Wall", a short film by Julian Colbeck

Added: January 20th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1643
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by