Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

U.D.O. : Live In Sofia

While Accept and Udo continue on separate paths we may not see a reunion anytime soon, but anyway is it really necessary, aren't two fine metal bands better than one? Both acts still have that metal passion, and the proof is on recent releases like U.D.O's latest Live In Sofia.

Captured during U.D.O.'s Rev-Raptor tour this new release has a generous collection of U.D.O.'s catchy riff driven heavy metal, plus great versions of the Accept classics "Metal Heart" and "Balls To The Wall" as the U.D.O. crew turn it on with a powerful live performance. Live In Sofia is offered in two versions as aDVD/2-CD Digipak or you may prefer the BluRay/2-CD Digipak option.

The metal veteran with that distinctive vocal style Udo Dirkschneider has of course been recording and performing live for many years now, and has a vast number of releases with U.D.O., the first unleashed back in 1987 so it is also their 25th Anniversary which is quite an impressive achievement. Udo is effectively backed up by his fellow band members proving U.D.O. are still one potent heavy rocking live act that has the substantial audience hooked, and as you would hope the sound quality is certainly good enough for this live recording.

Kicking of with the excellent title tracks from two more recent studio albums Rev-Raptor and Dominator, Live In Sofia starts impressively, but you wont just hear all new songs as their earlier material isn't forgotten. Live In Sofia offers a up a good selection of U.D.O.'s succulent metal hits with a drum and guitar solo included, and overall it's a great addition to their extensive album collection.

Track Listing
CD 1:
1. Rev-Raptor
2. Dominator
3. Thunderball
4. Leatherhead
5. Independence Day
6. Screaming For A Love-Bite
7. Heart Of Gold
8. Vendetta
9. Princess Of The Dawn
10. I Give As Good As I Get
11. Kokopelli (Guitar Solo)

CD 2:
1. Neon Nights
2. Break The Rules
3. Man And Machine
4. Drum Solo
5. Living On A Frontline
6. Up To The Limit
7. Two Faced Woman
8. Metal Heart
9. The Bogeyman
10. I'm A Rebel
11. Balls To The Wall
12. Burning

Added: December 25th 2012
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2796
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by