Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Earth Size Diamonds: Alien Science

Earth Size Diamonds is the brainchild of Mohadev, a multi-instrumentalist and composer who hails from Austin, Texas. Alien Science is the follow up to In A Shrinking Forest, released in 2011.

Mohadev is a unique talent and I have to say Earth Size Diamonds does not sound quite like any other band I have heard. Compelling and quirky arrangements, interesting acoustic and electric guitar structures and some pretty fine melodies are what you will find here. This is not music easily stuffed into a genre but instrumental music gearing towards the experimental might be as good a label as any.

The album begins with the space rock moodiness of "Solar Flares", an anomaly amongst the nine tunes as the band does not further develop the space rock themes explored here which may be good or bad, depending on your tastes. Moody keyboards and crisp acoustic guitar lead to starkly coloured synths and a post rock feel, particularly in Mohadev's repeating guitar structures.

The rest of the album is quite a bit different. Lots of acoustic/electronic percussion sounds augmented with many tasty tidbits of acoustic guitar. Mohadev has an interesting technique and is able to create some pretty unique sounds. The avant-gardish "Brief Transcriptions of Tactile Phenomena" features the lush layering of violin and viola courtesy of Roberto Riggio while heavier guitar sounds pervade the title track. Electronic percussion adds to the overall quirkiness and gives it an experimental feel.

The pace is slowed by the calming "December Alone" featuring a nice melody and a keyboard laden backdrop before picking up again with the upbeat "Soft Science Fiction". The album ends with the acoustically driven "First Transmission" featuring interesting effects and an overall dreamy vibe.

If you are into music edging on the experimental and appreciate acoustically dominated tunes with plenty of good melodies Earth Size Diamonds should garner your interest. I really enjoyed it.

Track listing:
1. Solar Flares
2. Brief Transcriptions of Tactile Phenomena
3. Space Flowers
4. Alien Science
5. Final Transmission
6. Ecstatic Dancing Ghosts
7. December Alone
8. Soft Science Fiction
9. First Transmission

Added: December 23rd 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 2554
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by