Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

A Tree of Signs: Salt

From Portugal by way of Sweden comes A Tree of Signs, a psychedelic doom metal trio comprised of V-Kaos (Vocals, Keyboards), NH (Bass), and P. Tosher (Drums). Their latest release is titled Salt, a 4 song EP that will probably draw interest from fans of Blood Ceremony, The Devil's Blood, Jex Thoth,and of course Black Sabbath. The atmospheric and at times angelic vocals of V-Kaos float over a cascade of crushing bass riffs (yeah, no guitar here) and pounding bass, with the singer also contributing some spooky keyboard effects for good measure. It's all very bleak and, well, doomy, with the whispy vocals adding an interesting element to the otherwise occult laden dirges on tracks like "Book of Silence" and "Of the Division of Chaos". To be honest, despite the monstrous, fuzz laden bass riffs, I kind of miss guitar here, and the drums sound like they were recorded in someone's garage. Overall Salt is an interesting listen, but A Tree of Signs still sound like a work in progress.

Track Listing
1. Greate Python 06:03
2. Book of Silence 06:22
3. Red Lune, Sol and Sea 05:32
4. Of the Division of Chaos 06:33

Added: December 22nd 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1608
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by