Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Surrounded By Monsters: Novella

Surrounded By Monsters are a recent signing to the Nuclear Blast roster, and after listening to their new CD Novella, I'm actually left scratching my head wondering what the label was thinking here. This is cookie cutter, run of the mill screamo/death-core, and something we'd see on either Victory Records or Century Media under normal circumstances. If your tastes gravitate towards an act like IWRESTLEDABEARONCE, then Surrounded By Monsters most certainly will be for you. Generic screams, shouts, bellows, and growls, punishing breakdowns, the occasional synth passage and technical guitar noodling, and lots of songs that sound practically identical to each other. Novella is heavy enough in spots, make no mistake about it, but there's just nothing here that stands out and warrants your attention, as this has all been done before and much better I might add.

Track Listing
1. Dr. Phuck
2. Daydreamer
3. New Blood
4. Ask Mr. Owl
5. You Dirty Rat
6. Sending the Wolf
7. Chapter 1: Trangression
8. Chapter 2: Self Sequencing
9. 73
10. Still Life

Added: December 19th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1616
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by