Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lord Agheros: Demiurgo

Demiurgo is an ambitious atmospheric ambient black metal concept album with a multitude of tracks separated into two chapters, the first of which leans towards the extreme and the second involves lighter music.

The concept behind this recording is representative of the two faces of the soul being evil and good. Created by the Italian act known as Lord Agheros, Demiurgo effectively combines atmospheric and tranquil parts with the darker of metal elements and creepy effects like the haunting sounds of eerie screams. Also Lord Agheros has mixed different styles of vocals and instruments including acoustic guitar and piano on Demiurgo , which gives the listener a more diverse experience than one might be expecting on a black metal album.

But it's not all positive because the drums are of the programmed kind and luckily there aren't drums on all tracks as they serve more as a detraction from the music than a positive addition. It would have been far better to have the sound and feel that a real drummer brings than this artificial substitute we hear on Demiurgo. Sure they are well suited to some forms of music, but they don't have a place in many genres including black metal and this new album is a good example of why they just don't cut it.

Though you will find that darkened metal in the first chapter Demiurgo is far from your usual black metal recording, especially the second calmer part where Lord Agheros has produced a more restrained album. So apart from my view about the choice of drums I found that I didn't mind the remainder of this latest release from Lord Agheros.

Track list:
1. Prologue
2. Eris
3. Styx
4. Thanatos
5. Moros
6. Nemesi
7. Lyssa
8. Letum
9. Erebo
10. Nyx
11. Oizys
12. Emera
13. Geras
14. Lysimele
15. Ker
16. Apate
17. Etere

Added: December 17th 2012
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1855
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by